Skip to Main Content

Millard, Wasser Appointed to New Roles at YNHH Psychiatry and Behavioral Health Services

February 07, 2023

The Yale Department of Psychiatry has appointed two faculty to new leadership roles in Yale New Haven Psychiatry and Behavioral Health Services.

Hun Millard, MD, assistant professor of psychiatry, will serve as deputy medical director of psychiatry and behavioral health services for Yale New Haven Hospital (YNHH). In this role, she will assist Frank Fortunati, MD, JD, in his role as deputy chair of psychiatry for the Yale New Haven Health System and vice-chief/medical director of psychiatry and behavioral health for YNHH.

Tobias Wasser, MD, associate professor of psychiatry, will join YNHH Psychiatry and Behavioral Health Services as deputy medical director for community and forensic psychiatry. In this capacity, he will assist Fortunati in collaborations with community-based organizations in the greater New Haven area, particularly in its collaborations with the Connecticut Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services. He will also lead the provision of forensic psychiatry services within YNHH.

In addition, Wasser will begin a new role within the Yale Department of Psychiatry as assistant chair for program development. In this role, he will assist Michael Sernyak, MD, in his role as deputy chair for clinical affairs by supporting clinical innovation efforts across the department.

The goal of this restructuring is to provide more administrative support for Fortunati. The remainder of the Psychiatry and Behavioral Health leadership team will remain intact including Drs. Ariadna Forray (Section of Psychological Medicine), Katherine Klingensmith (Section of Outpatient Psychiatry), and Teofilo Matos Santana (Section of Psychiatry Emergency Services).

Millard will continue to serve as director of the section of inpatient psychiatry within YNHH. She is a graduate of the Howard School of Medicine, the Dartmouth Psychiatry Residency Program, and the Child and Adolescent Psychiatry Fellowship of the Yale Child Study Center. She has been recognized with three teaching awards, the Melvin Lewis Award of the Yale Child Study Center, and two teaching awards from the Yale Psychiatry Resident Association.

Wasser is a graduate of the University of Connecticut School of Medicine, the Yale Psychiatry Residency, and Yale fellowships in forensic psychiatry and public psychiatry. He is the recipient of numerous honors including the APA Carol Davis Ethics Award, the AAPL Best Teacher in a Fellowship Award, and several departmental distinctions.

Submitted by Christopher Gardner on February 08, 2023