Skip to Main Content


2020 Lustman Resident Research Awards announced

May 19, 2020
by Jordan Sisson

The Yale Department of Psychiatry is pleased to announce that Albert Higgins-Chen, MD, PhD, and Kartik Pattabiraman, MD, PhD, are the first place co-recipients of the 2020 Seymour Lustman Resident Research Award in Psychiatry.

Amalia Londono Tobon, MD, was the second place recipient.

The awards, established in honor of the late Professor Seymour L. Lustman and made possible by a generous contribution from the Seymour L. Lustman Memorial Fund, are presented annually to outstanding physician-scientists for excellence in research carried out during their training.

This year’s honorees will present their award-winning research at a virtual Grand Rounds on Friday, May 29.

First Place Co-Recipient

Albert Higgins-Chen, MD, PhD

“Schizophrenia and Epigenetic Aging Biomarkers: Increased Mortality, Reduced Cancer Risk, and Unique Clozapine Effects”

Mentor: Morgan Levine, PhD

First Place Co-Recipient

Kartik Pattabiraman, MD, PhD

“Regulation of Prefrontal Patterning, 1 Connectivity and 2 Synaptogenesis by Retinoic Acid”

Mentor: Nenad Sestan, MD, PhD

Second Place Recipient

Amalia Londono Tobon, MD

“School Age Effects of Minding the Baby—an Attachment-Based Home Visiting Intervention—on Parenting and Child Behaviors”

Mentors: Arietta Slade, PhD; Lois Sadler, PhD, RN
Other Contributors: Eileen Condon, PhD; Margaret Holland, PhD, MPS; and Linda Mayes, MD

Londono Tobon on Social Media: Twitter, Instagram, Facebook

Submitted by Jordan Sisson on May 18, 2020