Skip to Main Content

National and International Award Recipients

Nobel Prize

Administered by the Nobel Foundation in Stockholm, the Nobel Prize is an international awarded for outstanding work that has the greatest benefit to humankind. It is considered to be the pinnacle of scientific achievement.

  • Jennifer Doudna, PhD; Physiology or Medicine, 2020
  • James Rothman, PhD; Physiology or Medicine, 2013
  • Paul Greengard, PhD (1925-2019); Physiology or Medicine, 2000
  • George Palade, MD (1912-2008); Physiology or Medicine, 1974
  • Thomas A. Steitz, PhD (1940-2018); Chemistry, 2009
  • Sidney Altman, PhD; Chemistry, 1989
  • John Vane, DPhil (1927-2004); Physiology or Medicine, 1982
  • Edward Tatum, PhD (1909-1975); Physiology or Medicine, 1958
  • Max Theiler, MD (1899-1972); Physiology or Medicine, 1951

Lasker Award

The Lasker Awards recognize the contributions of researchers and physician-scientists who have made major advances in the understanding, diagnosis, treatment, cure, or prevention of disease.

Wolf Prize

The Wolf Prize is awarded to outstanding scientists and artists from across the world whose achievements benefit humankind and friendly relations among peoples.

Paul Ehrlich and Ludwig Darmstaedter Prize

Awarded by the Paul Ehrlich Foundation in Germany, the prize is one of the most distinguished in medicine.

John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation Fellow

The fellowship is awarded to individuals who demonstrate exceptional originality and promise in their fields.

Howard Hughes Medical Institute (HHMI)

The Howard Hughes Medical Institute Hanna H. Gray Fellows Program supports early career life scientists in academic labs across the U.S. with the goal of recruiting individuals from underrepresented groups. The HHMI Investigator Program supports investigators who are widely known for their scientific discoveries and innovation. The HHMI Faculty Scholars Program supports top researchers during the early phase of their careers.

National Academy of Medicine

Members of the National Academy of Medicine are elected in recognition of outstanding professional achievement and commitment to service. The NAM elects no more than 90 U.S. members and 10 international members each year.

National Academy of Sciences

Members of the National Academy of Sciences are elected in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research. Membership is considered one of the highest honors a scientist can achieve. The NAS elects no more than 120 members annually.

American Society for Clinical Investigation (ASCI)

Each year, the American Society for Clinical Investigation considers nominations of several hundred physician-scientists and recommends no more than 80 for election based on outstanding scholarly achievement. Election to ASCI is a milestone in the physician-scientist career path.

Kavli Prize

The Kavli Prize honors scientists for breakthroughs in astrophysics, nanoscience, or neuroscience.

Blavatnik Fund for Innovation at Yale

The Blavatnik Fund promotes and accelerates the development, application, and commercialization of breakthrough research in the life sciences. It is designed to shorten the timeline between discoveries in the sciences and their ultimate benefit to patients.