Skip to Main Content

Lieping Chen, MD, PhD

United Technologies Corporation Professor in Cancer Research and Professor of Immunobiology, of Dermatology and of Medicine (Medical Oncology); Co-Leader, Cancer Immunology, Yale Cancer Center



Dr. Lieping Chen is United Technologies Corporation Professor in Cancer Research, Professor of Immunobiology, Medicine (Medical Oncology) and Dermatology in Yale School of Medicine. He earned his medical degree from Fujian Medical College in Fuzhou, China. After clinical and research trainings in immunology and oncology in Fujian Union Hospital and Beijing Union Medical College, he got a PhD in Pathology from Drexel University in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania and did a postdoctoral fellowship in the University of Washington in Seattle. He worked as a research scientist in cancer and immunology discovery group in Bristol-Myers Squibb/Oncogen in Seattle from 1989-1997 before he moved to Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota as an Immunology Professor and Consultant from 1997-2004. He was Professor of Oncology and Dermatology at Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine in Baltimore, Maryland for 7 years and joined Yale since 2010.

Dr. Chen has published more than 350 research articles, reviews and book chapters and edited two books. His work in discovery of the PD-1/PD-L1 pathway for cancer immunotherapy was cited as the #1 breakthrough of the years by Science magazine 2013. He is a member of U.S. National Academy of Sciences and a Fellow of American Association for Cancer Research.

Education & Training

  • PhD
    Drexel University, Pathology and Laboratory Medicine (1989)
  • MS
    Beijing Union Medical College, Immunology (1986)
  • MD
    Fujian Medical College (1982)

Honors & Recognition

AwardAwarding OrganizationDate
FellowSociety for Immunotherapy of Cancer2021
MemberU.S. National Academy of Sciences2021
FellowAmerican Association for Cancer Research2021
Richard V. Smalley MD Memorial AwardSociety for Immunotherapy of Cancer2020
William O. Russell Lectureship and Joanne Vandenberge Hill AwardUniversity of Texas M.D. Anderson Cancer Center2019
Kurt Hellman AwardMetastasis Research Society2018
Luminary AwardWorld Affairs Council of Connecticut2018
AcademicianAcademia Sinica2018
Giants of Cancer CareOncLive2018
Shizhang Bei AwardBiophysical Society of China2017
Warren Alpert Foundation PrizeWarren Alpert Foundation2017
AAI-Steinman AwardAmerican Association of Immunologists2016
William B. Coley AwardCancer Research Institute2014

Departments & Organizations