Skip to Main Content

Residents, Fellows, Faculty, Staff Honored at 2022 Commencement Ceremonies

June 30, 2022

The Yale Department of Psychiatry honored residents, fellows, faculty, and staff at its annual Residency & Fellowship Commencement Ceremony held June 16 and 17.

The event marked the graduation of 21 residents and 21 fellows.

The honorees included the following residents: Kashif Ahmed, MD; James Baier, MD, MPH; Tanner Bommersbach, MD, MPH; Ignacio Cerdeña, MD; Nathan Ha, MD, PhD; Zachary Harvanek, MD, PhD; Jamila Hokanson, MD, MHA, MBA; Emily Hyun, MD; Frances Javier, MD; Jacob Kannarkat, MD; Heeryoung Kim, MD; Brooke Lifland, MD; Jelena MacLeod, MD, MHS; Tommy Mitchell, MD; Adam Parker, MD; Brent Penque, MD, PhD; Marco Ramos, MD, PhD; Nichole Roxas, MD, MPH; Jasmine Saadatmand, MD, MPH; Alice Shen, MD; and Sherab Tsheringla, MBBS, MD

Fellows honored were:

Addiction Psychiatry Fellowship

Fabriola A. Arbelo Cruz, MD; Alvaro Gonzalez Alfonzo, MD; Dexter Louie, MD; Benjamin Joseph Luft, MD; Olaniyi Olayinka, MD, MPH; Javier Ponce Terashima, MD; Alexander Kavon Rahimi, MD, MS; Will Rutland, MD, JD, MPH; and Andrew James Wilbur, MD

Consultation-Liaison Fellowship

Cecilia Marie Fitz-Gerald, MD; Naila N. Karim, MD; and Onyi Okeke, MD

Forensic Psychiatry Fellowship

Raina Aggarwal, MD; Ravi Anand, MD; Darmant Kaur Bhullar, MD; Ayala Danzig, MD; and Marta Herger, MD, JD

Geriatric Psychiatry Fellowship

Hana Ali, MD; Zachary Cohen, MD; Ryan O'Dell, MD, PhD; and Nicolas Perez-Palmer, MD.


Stephen Fleck Award

Ariadna Forray: Awarded to a faculty member (s) who demonstrates the highest standards of a clinician and educator, following in the footsteps of the late Dr. Stephen Fleck, a long-time member of the Yale faculty who served as a shining example of a clinician-scholar who insisted on giving the highest priority to patient care and teaching.

Chairman’s Award

Christy Olezeski: The Chairman's Award is given to a junior, full-time faculty member who has excelled in the department's goals of enriching knowledge, transmitting understanding and providing excellence in the delivery of care.

Outstanding Clinical Faculty Award

Debra Bond: The recipient for this award is chosen from the voluntary (clinical) faculty and has demonstrated an ongoing commitment to the department, on a completely voluntary basis. The areas of service include, but are not limited to, teaching, supervision, and committee work.

Howard Zonana Award

Alice Shen: Presented by the Law and Psychiatry Division to the resident who has demonstrated interest in, and commitment to, forensic psychiatry and its impact on social justice.

Resident Teaching Award

Ashley Moreno: The Resident Teaching Award is given in memory of our former resident and colleague, Dr. James Longhurst. It acknowledges and recognizes the contribution of a Yale Psychiatry Resident as an outstanding teacher and role model. The residents are nominated for this award by students, peers, and faculty.

Ira Levine Award

Ashley Moreno & Justin Young: The Ira Levine Award was established in 2004 to recognize outstanding PGY-2 psychiatry residents who best embody the qualities of clinical excellence, breadth of learning, and devotion to the care of severe psychiatric illness exemplified by Dr. Levine.

PRA Teaching Award

Yun Feng: This award acknowledges the outstanding contribution of one or more attending physicians to the education and development of the residents.

PRA Benjamin S. Bunney Award

Nientara Anderson: The Benjamin S. Bunney Award is awarded annually to a resident who has demonstrated exceptional service to the Psychiatry Residents’ Association (PRA) mission of advocacy for residents and patients, clinical care, and education.

PRA Award for Outstanding Supportive Service

Gina Morrow: This award goes to an outstanding nurse, social worker, or other support staff.

Staff Recognition Award: Karima Robinson, Amy Bradley, & Kyle Pedersen

PRA Resident Diversity Award: Nichole Roxas

PRA Faculty Diversity Award: Carmen Black

Submitted by Christopher Gardner on June 30, 2022