Skip to Main Content


School of Medicine names new chair of ob/gyn

Yale Medicine Magazine, 2013 - Winter


Hugh S. Taylor, M.D., HS ’92, FW ’98, was named chair of the Department of Obstetrics, Gynecology, and Reproductive Sciences at the School of Medicine, and chief of obstetrics and gynecology at Yale-New Haven Hospital, effective October 1, 2012. Taylor has served as professor and vice chair of obstetrics, gynecology, and reproductive sciences, and as chief of reproductive endocrinology and infertility. Taylor’s research has been funded by the NIH for more than 20 years. He is the editor in chief of the journal Reproductive Sciences as well as editor of Endocrinology. He serves on the board of directors of the American Society for Reproductive Medicine (ASRM), where he is president-elect of the endometriosis interest group; he also serves on the governing council of the Society for Gynecologic Investigation (SGI). Taylor received the President’s Achievement Award from the SGI in 2008.

As chief of reproductive endocrinology and infertility, Taylor has expanded the clinical capability and geographic reach of this critical service. Under his leadership, the section has established itself as a national leader, reflected in Taylor’s role as clinical director of the Society for Assisted Reproductive Technology, the organization that governs in vitro fertilization practice in the United States. He has been recognized as Mentor of the Year by the American Congress of Obstetricians and Gynecologists and as Honoree of the Year by the Endometriosis Foundation of America. He has received multiple research awards from the ASRM, the SGI, and the Endocrine Society.