Skip to Main Content


American Association for the Advancement of Science

Yale Medicine Magazine, 2013 - Spring


Three faculty members received the distinction of Fellow from the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) in February for their efforts toward advancing science applications that are deemed scientifically or socially distinguished. Lynn Cooley, Ph.D., the C.N.H. Long Professor of Genetics and professor of cell biology and of molecular, cellular, and developmental biology; Residential College Associate Fellow in the Faculty of Arts and Sciences; and director of the Combined Program in the Biological and Biomedical Sciences, was honored for her contributions to developmental cell biology, particularly for her analysis of oocyte growth during Drosophila oogenesis. Pietro De Camilli, M.D., FW ’79, the Eugene Higgins Professor of Cell Biology and professor of neurobiology, was honored for contributions to the cell biology of the synapse, and the discovery of the role of phosphoinositide metabolism in the control of endocytosis. David A. McCormick, Ph.D., the Dorys McConnell Duberg Professor of Neurobiology and vice director of the Yale Kavli Institute for Neuroscience, was honored for contributions to the understanding of the cellular mechanisms by which the central nervous system generates states of activity; how these states are related to behavior; and how they are determined by the actions of neuromodulatory transmitters.