Psychiatry faculty, residents, and staff honored at 2015 commencement ceremony

At its annual Residency & Fellowship Commencement Ceremony, the Yale Department of Psychiatry announced recipients of national and departmental awards.

The event, held on June 5th at Davenport Residential College, marked the graduation of 18 residents and 26 fellows.

Download the 2015 Resident Commencement Booklet: This booklet includes a list of graduating residents, the biographies and reflections that were read during the ceremony, as well as each residents' future plans.

The list of awardees is below. When possible, excerpts from remarks of the award presenters have been included.

Faculty Awards

Stephen Fleck Award

Ellen Edens, MD, MPE
Award to a faculty member who demonstrates the highest standards of a clinician and educator, following in the footsteps of the late Dr. Stephen Fleck, a long-time member of the Yale faculty who served as a shining example of a clinician-scholar who insisted on giving the highest priority to patient care and teaching.

"Dr. Edens is a passionate advocate for patients, a role model for residents and fellows, and is someone who is constantly striving to improve clinical care of veterans or the educational experience of trainees within this department."

Chairman’s Award

Nadia Ward, PhD
The Chairman's Award is given to a junior, full-time faculty member who has excelled in the department's goals of enriching knowledge, transmitting understanding and providing excellence in the delivery of care.

"Dr. Ward is universally respected for her innovative consultation and research in urban school settings, her dedication as an educator and mentor, and her highly productive record. She is a passionate educator, professional, and scholar who is committed to excellence in services for urban youth and their families."

Outstanding Clinical Faculty Award

John de Figueiredo, MBBS, ScD
The recipient for this award is chosen from the voluntary (clinical) faculty and has demonstrated an ongoing commitment to the department, on a completely voluntary basis. The areas of service include, but are not limited to, teaching, supervision, and committee work.

"When it comes to teaching medical students, Dr. de Figueiredo sets the bar at a high level. Students rave about his patient, non-judgmental teaching style and the thoughtful, constructive feedback. His dedication to medical student education is truly commendable and sincerely appreciated."

Resident Awards

Laughlin Foundation Merit Award

Ayana Jordan, MD, PhD
For more than thirty years, the Laughlin Family Foundation has honored outstanding residents in psychiatric training programs across the country. Award recipients are selected by the senior faculty at their universities. This award is presented to an outstanding fourth-year resident who combines clinical and scholarly excellence.

Resident Teaching Award

Teófilo Matos Santana, MD and Ish Bhalla, MD
The Resident Teaching Award is given in memory of our former resident and colleague, Dr. James Longhurst. It acknowledges and recognizes the contribution of a Yale Psychiatry Resident as an outstanding teacher and role model. The residents are nominated for this award by students, peers, and faculty.

Ira Levine Award

Rachel Katz, MD and Phelan Maruca-Sullivan, MD
The Ira Levine Award was established in 2004 to recognize outstanding PGY-2 psychiatry residents who best embody the qualities of clinical excellence, breadth of learning, and devotion to the care of severe psychiatric illness exemplified by Dr. Levine.

Chief Resident Certificates

Ayana Jordan, MD, PhD and Isaiah Chase, MD

Awards Presented by the Psychiatry Residents' Association (PRA)

PRA Teaching Award

Zheala Qayyum, MBBS; Michael Bloch, MD, MS; and David Ross, MD, PhD
This award acknowledges the outstanding contribution of one or more attending physicians to the education and development of the residents.

Benjamin S. Bunney Award

Isaiah Chase, MD
The Benjamin S. Bunney Award is awarded annually to a resident who has demonstrated exceptional service to the Psychiatry Residents’ Association (PRA) mission of advocacy for residents and patients, clinical care, and education.

PRA Supportive Services Award

Daniel Calvert, MSW, Clinical Social Worker, VA Connecticut Healthcare System; and Angie Wing, Coordinator, Yale-New Haven Psychiatric Hospital
This award goes to an outstanding nurse, social worker, or other support staff.

This article was submitted by Shane Seger on July 6, 2015.