Skip to Main Content

Khera Receives ASCI Young Physician-Scientist Award

February 13, 2023
by Elisabeth Reitman

The Young Physician-Scientist Award supports early-career physician-scientists.

Rohan Khera, MD, MS, assistant professor of medicine (cardiovascular medicine) and biostatistics (health informatics), has been selected for the American Society for Clinical Investigation (ASCI) Young Physician-Scientist Award.

Khera is among 40 early-career awardees to be selected for noteworthy achievements in their field. Khera will attend the AAP/ASCI/APSA Joint Meeting, April 20-23 and participate in workshops taught by healthcare management researcher Rangaraj Ramanujam, PhD, Richard M. and Betty Ruth Miller Professor of Management and Professor of Health Policy, Vanderbilt University.

Khera attended the All India Institute of Medical Sciences, where he was a National Young Investigator Scholarship awardee. He completed his internship and residency training at University of Iowa, followed by cardiology fellowship and a Master of Science degree from UT Southwestern Medical Center.

In 2020, Khera established the Cardiovascular Data Science (CarDS) Lab at the Yale School of Medicine. He is the co-director for Cardiovascular Medicine Grand Rounds and clinical director of the Center for Health Informatics and Analytics within the Center for Outcomes Research & Evaluation (CORE).

Khera is the recipient of the 2021 Jeremiah Stamler Distinguished Young Investigator Research Award, ACC Young Investigator Award, Francois Abboud Young Investigator Award, and other honors. He has published extensively on data-driven innovation in cardiovascular care. His work at the CarDS Lab leverages a broad suite of digital healthcare data, spanning electronic health records, electrocardiography, cardiovascular imaging, and wearable devices to evaluate the quality of care and develop precision care solutions. Grants from the National Institutes of Health and the Doris Duke Charitable Foundation support his work.

Established in 1908, the ASCI supports physician-scientists throughout their careers. Past recipients of the ASCI Young Physician-Scientist Award from the Yale School of Medicine include Whitney Besse, MD, William Damsky, MD, PhD, Ellen Foxman, MD, PhD, Brian Palmer Hafler, MD, PhD, and Craig Wilen, MD, PhD.

Submitted by Elisabeth Reitman on February 14, 2023