Skip to Main Content


Fuery, Chung, Srikumar Win Teaching Awards

December 19, 2019
by Julie Parry

On December 19, housestaff members Michael Fuery, MD; Green Chung, MD; and Thejal Srikumar, MD won the Dr. Peggy Bia Award for Outstanding Clinical Teaching for their dedication to teaching medical students during their Internal Medicine Clerkship at Yale School of Medicine (YSM).

The annual award is given to an intern and a resident who embodies the spirit of education central to the mission of the Department of Internal Medicine.

This year’s winners are:

  • PGY-1 winner: Michael Fuery, MD (Traditional Residency Program)
  • PGY-1 winner (now a PGY-2): Green Chung, MD (Primary Care Residency Program)
  • PGY-3 winner: Thejal Srikumar, MD (Traditional Residency Program)

Dana Dunne, MD, director, Internal Medicine Clerkship and associate chair for Education & Academic Affairs explained the background of the award. “As a tireless advocate of medical education at YSM, Bia was known as an outstanding teacher. She served as Director of Clinical Skills for 15 years and in doing so, she cultivated caring and love, and indoctrinated a generation of medical graduates here at Yale.”

To learn more about the Department of Internal Medicine’s Clerkship program, visit Medical Approach to the Patient (MAP) - Internal Medicine Component Clerkship. For more information on residency programs within the department, visit Residency Training Programs.

Submitted by Julie Parry on December 19, 2019