Skip to Main Content


John Dystel Prize

Yale Medicine Magazine, 2002 - Autumn


Stephen G. Waxman, M.D., Ph.D., chair of neurology and co-director of the Yale-London Collaboration on Central Nervous System Repair, received the John Dystel Prize for Multiple Sclerosis Research from the American Academy of Neurology and the National Multiple Sclerosis (MS) Society in April. He received the prize for research in two areas: molecular changes that occur within nerve cells in MS and new therapeutic approaches that have the goal of restoring functions, such as vision or the ability to walk, in people with MS.