Skip to Main Content

05 FN: Gary E. Friedlaender

Yale Medicine Magazine, 2014 - Spring


Gary E. Friedlaender, M.D., HS ’74, chair and the Wayne O. Southwick Professor of Orthopaedics and Rehabilitation and professor of pathology, received the 2014 William W. Tipton Leadership Award in March from The American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons (AAOS) during a ceremony at its annual meeting in New Orleans. The award recognizes Academy members who have demonstrated leadership qualities that have benefitted the orthopaedic community, patients, and/or the American public. The award honors and celebrates the late William W. Tipton Jr., M.D., an orthopaedic surgeon, educator, and former AAOS chief executive officer. Friedlaender is a preeminent orthopaedic oncology surgeon, and among the longest-serving orthopaedic chairs in the United States. He has served as president of the American Orthopaedic Association, the Orthopaedic Research Society, the Academic Orthopaedic Society, the Association of Bone and Joint Surgeons, and the American Association of Tissue Banks.

Previous Article
08 FN: Joan Steitz
Next Article
06 FN: Brian P. Hafler