Skip to Main Content

Lustman, Detre Award Recipients Announced

May 12, 2022

The Yale Department of Psychiatry is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2022 Seymour Lustman Awards for Psychiatric Neuroscience and the 2022 Detre Awards for Psychiatric Research.

Lustman Awards

The awards, established in honor of the late Professor Seymour L. Lustman and made possible by a generous contribution from the Seymour L. Lustman Memorial Fund, are presented annually to outstanding physician-scientists for excellence in research carried out during their training.

This year’s honorees will present their award-winning research at a virtual Grand Rounds on Friday, May 20.

First placeTanner Bommersbach, MD, MPH. Paper published this spring in JAMA Psychiatry: “National Trends of Mental Health Care Among US Adults Who Attempted Suicide in the Past 12 Months”

Co-second placeDan Tylee, MD, PhD. Paper published this spring in JAMA Psychiatry: “An Atlas of Genetic Correlations and Genetically Informed Associations Linking Psychiatric and Immune-Related Phenotypes”

Co-second placeTerrell Holloway, MD, and Zach Harvanek, MD, PhD. Paper published: “Greater Stress and Trauma Mediate Race Differences in Epigenetic Age Between Black and white Healthy Young Adults.”

Honorable mentionNientara Anderson, MD, MHS: Paper published this spring in The Journal of General Internal Medicine: “The Association of Microaggressions with Depressive Symptoms and Institutional Satisfaction Among a National Cohort of Medical Students”

Detre Awards

The Detre Awards support translational research endeavors of residents enrolled (or interested in enrolling) in the Neuroscience Research Training Program in Psychiatry. Recipients are provided with up to $30,000 in support of their projects and training.

The Detre Awards were established in memory of Dr. Detre, an internationally renowned academic psychiatrist, esteemed Yale Psychiatry faculty member/alumnus, and Chair of Psychiatry, Vice Chancellor of Health Services, and Dean at the University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine.

2022 Detre Award for Psychiatric Research winners:

Enock Teefe, MD: "Investigating Rare and Common Genetic Variants in Tourette’s Disorder"

Bradford Martins, MD, PhD: "The Role of the Subjective Experience in of Dimethyltryptamine in the Treatment of Alcohol Use Disorder"

Ahmed Tahseen, MD: "Investigating a Stress-Diathesis Model Relating PTSD to Suicide"

Submitted by Christopher Gardner on May 12, 2022