Skip to Main Content

Connecticut Society of Pathologists' Educational Meeting Draws Pathologists from Across the State

March 01, 2024

The revived Connecticut Society of Pathologists (CSP) held its Inaugural Education Meeting on February 24 at the Bristol Event Center, drawing pathologists from across the state.

The CSP had been dormant for several years, but an effort to revive it, spearheaded by Yale Pathologists, has resulted in reinstatement of the society and its first sponsored meeting in years.

The meeting’s keynote speaker was David Klimstra, MD, ’88, HS ’91, Chief Medical Officer, Paige AI and former Chair of the Department of Pathology at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, who spoke of AI and Digital Pathology, followed by panel discussion. That was followed by a Resident and Fellow Poster Session, and Resident and Fellow Platform Presentations.

The effort to revive the CSP began in early 2022 when Dhanpat Jain, MD, Professor of Pathology and of Medicine (Digestive Diseases), reached out to colleagues within the Yale Pathology community, inquiring about their interest in reviving CSP. Christine Minerowicz, MD, Assistant Professor of Pathology, Uma Krishnamurti, MD, MBBS, PhD, Associate Professor of Pathology, and He (Peter) Wang, MD, PhD, Associate Professor of Pathology, joined Dr. Jain in leading the initiative.

Dr. Minerowicz serves as president of the CSP, Dr. Krishnamurti as Secretary/Treasurer and Dr. Wang as Membership Committee Chair. Dr. Jain is on the Board of Directors. The CSP Advocacy Committee includes Yale Pathology faculty members Angelique Levi, MD, Associate Professor of Pathology, Vice Chair of Operations, and Director of Pathology Reference Services, Dr. Krishnamurti and Dr. Wang. Additional faculty involvement includes Sudhir Perincheri, MBBS, PhD, Assistant Professor of Pathology, as Chair for the Media Committee and Wenyi Luo, MD, PhD, Assistant Professor of Pathology, for the Membership Committee. In addition, Xuchen Zhang, MD, PhD, Professor of Pathology, is on the Education Committee, and Chen Liu, MD, PhD, Anthony N. Brady Professor of Pathology and Chair of Pathology, serves on the Executive Committee.

Submitted by Terence P. Corcoran on March 01, 2024