Skip to Main Content


Ambrose Wong

Assistant Professor; Director of Simulation Research; Fellowship Director, Medical Simulation, Dept Clinical: Emergency Medicine



Ambrose Wong, MD, MSEd, MHS, is a physician-scientist in the Department of Emergency Medicine, with a focus on teamwork, patient safety, behavioral health, and healthcare disparities. He is the Research Director and Fellowship Director at the Yale Center for Medical Simulation. He also has expertise in qualitative and mixed-methods techniques for health services research.

Dr. Wong applies healthcare simulation technology to address workplace violence and improve behavioral care in the emergency setting. He has authored eighteen peer-reviewed publications on behavioral emergency care and received an NIH NCATS KL2 & YCCI Scholar Award to implement an agitation code team response intervention. He is the current recipient of an NIMH K23 career development award to investigate the use of health IT in preventing episodes of agitation for behavioral patients in the emergency department. He also received an NIMHD R21 exploratory/developmental research grant that will identify factors contributing to bias and disparities during episodes of agitation using natural language processing and cognitive methods.

Honors & Recognition

AwardAwarding OrganizationDate
R21 Eploratory/Developmental Research Grant "Characterizing Bias and Care Disparities with Physical Restraint Use in the Emergency Setting Using Natural Language and Cognitive Data"National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities2022
K23 Career Development Award “Clinical Decision Support Tool to Assess Risk and Prevent Agitation Events”National Institute of Mental Health2021
Change Agent AwardSociety for Academic Emergency Medicine, Simulation Academy2021
Top 2019 Peer ReviewerAnnals of Emergency Medicine2020
YCCI Scholar/NIH CTSA KL2 AwardYale Center for Clinical Investigation2019
Future Innovators in Research, Education and Simulation AwardSociety for Simulation in Healthcare2017
Nancy T. Watts Fellowship AwardMGH Institute of Health Professions2015
Chief Resident(s) of the Year AwardEmergency Medicine Residents' Association2014

Professional Service

Academic Emergency Medicine Education & TrainingEditorial Board Member2022 - Present
Annals of Emergency MedicineAssistant Editor2021 - Present
Society for Academic Emergency Medicine - Simulation AcademyTreasurer; President2018 - Present
Society for Simulation in Healthcare - Emergency Medicine SectionSecretary; Vice-Chair2018 - 2022

Departments & Organizations