Skip to Main Content


2004 residency placements for Yale medical students

Yale Medicine Magazine, 2004 - Summer


The Office of Student Affairs has provided the following list, which outlines the results of the National Resident Matching Program for Yale’s medical graduates. Some names appear twice because the graduate is entering a one-year program before beginning a specialty residency. The transitional designation is a one-year program with three-month rotations in different specialties.


California Pacific Medical Center, San Francisco
Paul Kim, radiation oncology

Contra Costa Regional Medical Center, Martinez
Pramita Kuruvilla, family practice

Harbor–UCLA Medical Center, Torrance
Chirag Shah, emergency medicine

Santa Clara Valley Medical Center, San Jose
Paul Kim, transitional

St. Mary Medical Center, Long Beach
Ragui Sedeek, medicine-preliminary

Stanford University Programs
Bao Duong, emergency medicine
Katharine Fast, internal medicine
Saif Ghole, general surgery
Cambria Hembree, internal medicine
Ilene Wong, surgery-preliminary, urology

University of California, San Francisco
Michael Eisenberg, surgery-preliminary, urology
Mona Kotecha, anesthesiology
Liana Kretschmar, pediatrics
Roberto Lugo, orthopaedic surgery
James McCabe, internal medicine
Harsimran Singh, internal medicine


Hospital of Saint Raphael, New Haven
Paul El-Fishawy, medicine-preliminary
Cinthia Guzman, transitional
Nabil Salib, general surgery
John Soderberg, medicine-preliminary

Yale-New Haven Hospital
Nduka Amankulor, surgery-preliminary, neurosurgery
Vernee Belcher, internal medicine/primary
Michael Bloch, psychiatry-adult/child
Victoria Bruegel Sanchez, orthopaedic surgery
Severine Chavel, medicine-preliminary, dermatology
Keith Choate, medicine-preliminary, dermatology
Oscar Colegio, medicine-preliminary, dermatology
Craig Dushey, orthopaedic surgery
Rina Garcia, internal medicine/primary
Grahame Gould, surgery-preliminary, neurosurgery
Michael Greenspan, internal medicine
Cinthia Guzman, ophthalmology
Karl Haglund, medicine-primary-preliminary
Joseph Harburger, internal medicine
Byron Kennedy, general surgery
Elaine Kung, medicine-primary-preliminary
Elin Lisska, internal medicine
Kavita Mariwalla, dermatology
Paola Uranga, general surgery
Erica Wang, obstetrics and gynecology


Georgetown University Hospital
Heather Shelsta, transitional

Walter Reed Army Medical Center
Clifton Mo, internal medicine

Washington Hospital Center
Mona Kotecha, medicine-preliminary


University of Chicago Hospitals
Jennifer Blair, emergency medicine
Melissa Kirkwood, general surgery
Elaine Kung, dermatology


Johns Hopkins Hospital, Baltimore
Renee Boynton-Jarrett, pediatrics
William Burns, general surgery
John Koethe, internal medicine

National Naval Medical Center, Bethesda
Suneil Ramchandani, internal medicine


Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, Boston
Wei Chan Hwang, internal medicine
Benjamin Negin, internal medicine
Jared Weiss, internal medicine

Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Boston
Mark Berman, internal medicine/primary
Ugonna Duru, obstetrics and gynecology
Darlene Gabeau, radiation oncology
Karl Haglund, radiation oncology
Timothy Henrich, internal medicine
Christopher Herndon, obstetrics and gynecology
Stephanie Holler, diagnostic radiology
Alfred Lee, internal medicine
Jacqueline William, pathology

Carney Hospital, Boston
Ryan Jean-Baptiste, medicine-preliminary

Children’s Hospital of Boston
Virginia Cohen, pediatrics
Rupali Gandhi, pediatrics
Dena Springer, pediatrics
Rachel Willner, pediatrics

Massachusetts Eye and Ear Infirmary, Boston
Ben Kim, ophthalmology

Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston
Allyson Bloom, internal medicine
Amir Fathi, internal medicine
Kavita Mariwalla, medicine-preliminary
Ashraf Thabet, diagnostic radiology
Parsia Vagefi, general surgery
Erik Weiss, surgery-preliminary, urology

Mount Auburn Hospital, Cambridge
Darlene Gabeau, medicine-preliminary
Ben Kim, medicine-preliminary


University of Michigan Hospitals, Ann Arbor
Sarah Kohnstamm, internal medicine


Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center, Lebanon
Jennifer Fines, pediatrics
Adam Pearson, orthopaedic surgery
Hilary Ryder, internal medicine


UMDNJ–New Jersey Hospital, Newark
Robyn Siperstein, dermatology


University of New Mexico Health Sciences Center, Albuquerque
Lawrence Goldstein, emergency medicine


Albert Einstein College/Jacobi Medical Center, Bronx
Jessica Newman, dermatology

Albert Einstein College/Montefiore Medical Center, Bronx
Brent Little, diagnostic radiology
Jane Schneider, medicine-preliminary

Beth Israel Medical Center
Jessica Newman, medicine-preliminary

Lenox Hill Hospital Elizabeth Arleo, medicine-preliminary

Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center
Richard Awdeh, transitional
Stephanie Holler, transitional

Mount Sinai Hospital
Bahar Firoz, medicine-preliminary
Tamiesha Frempong, medicine-preliminary
Brent Little, medicine-preliminary

New York Eye and Ear Infirmary
Ragui Sedeek, ophthalmology

New York Medical College at St. Vincent’s Hospital
Ashraf Thabet, medicine-preliminary

New York Methodist Hospital, Brooklyn
Ryan Jean-Baptiste, diagnostic radiology

New York-Presbyterian Hospital–Columbia
Eliza Auerbach, pediatrics
Paola Ayora, pediatrics
Cordelia Carter, orthopaedic surgery
Caroline Jjingo, internal medicine
Daniel Prince, orthopaedic surgery

New York-Presbyterian Hospital–Cornell
Elizabeth Arleo, diagnostic radiology

New York University School of Medicine
Bahar Firoz, dermatology
Rachel Levy, internal medicine/primary
Reena Rupani, medicine-preliminary

SUNY Health Science Center, Brooklyn
Jane Schneider, dermatology

University of Rochester/Strong Memorial Hospital
Emily Lambert, medicine-preliminary-neurology, dermatology


Duke University, Durham
Richard Awdeh, ophthalmology
John Soderberg, dermatology

University of North Carolina Hospital, Chapel Hill
Shannelle Campbell, general surgery


Cleveland Clinic Foundation
Edward Cho, surgery-preliminary, otolaryngology


Albert Einstein Medical Center, Philadelphia
Robyn Siperstein, transitional

Allegheny General Hospital, Pittsburgh
Eduardo Marchan, surgery-preliminary, neurosurgery

Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia
Spencer Epps, pediatrics
Laura Mobisson, pediatrics

Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia
Charles Baillie, internal medicine
Kathryn Davis, medicine-preliminary, neurology
Myriam Fernandes, obstetrics and gynecology
Sean Lucan, family practice
Alejandro Necochea, internal medicine
Alejandro Reti, pathology

Scheie Eye Institute/University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia
Tamiesha Frempong, ophthalmology

Thomas Jefferson University, Philadelphia
Ada-Nkem Nwaneri, family practice

Wills Eye Hospital, Philadelphia
Heather Shelsta, ophthalmology


Rhode Island Hospital/Brown University, Providence
Reena Rupani, dermatology


University of Texas Southwestern Medical School, Dallas
Jenny Yiee, surgery-preliminary, urology


University of Washington Affiliated Hospitals, Seattle
Rajasekhara Ayyagari, surgery-preliminary, urology
Zachary Goldberger, internal medicine
Eric Gustafson, pediatrics
Grace Kalish, diagnostic radiology
Marco Salazar, surgery-preliminary, urology

Virginia Mason Medical Center, Seattle
Grace Kalish, transitional