Skip to Main Content

Taylor is elected to National Academy of Medicine

Hugh Taylor

Hugh S. Taylor, M.D., Anita O’Keeffe Young Professor and chair of the Department of Obstetrics, Gynecology, and Reproductive Sciences; professor of molecular, cellular and developmental biology; and chief of obstetrics and gynecology at Yale New Haven Hospital is one of 79 individuals elected in October to the National Academy of Medicine (NAM).

Taylor’s clinical research centers on implantation, endometriosis, and menopause. His basic science research focuses on uterine development, the regulation of developmental gene expression by sex steroids, endocrine disruption, and stem cells. Taylor’s work has led to, among other insights, a better understanding of endometriosis, including its genetic cause and the role of stem cells in the disease.

Taylor earned a Bachelor of Arts from Yale College in 1983, and his M.D. degree from the University of Connecticut School of Medicine in 1988. He then returned to Yale for his residency in obstetrics and gynecology. His postdoctoral training at Yale included a fellowship in reproductive endocrinology and infertility as well as a fellowship in molecular biology. He became an associate research scientist in 1992 and joined the ladder track faculty in 1998.

In 2015-2016, he served as president of the Society for Reproductive Investigation, the leading academic society in the field of obstetrics and gynecology, and presided over its 2016 annual meeting. In 2013, he was awarded the IVI Foundation International Award for the impact of his research in reproductive medicine, and was named Mentor of the Year by the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists. In 2012, he was named Honoree of the Year by the Endometriosis Association.

The NAM (originally the Institute of Medicine) was established in 1970 under the charter of the National Academy of Sciences to advise the nation on medical and health issues. Members are elected by their peers for distinguished contributions to medicine and health. At its annual meeting, NAM announced 70 new members from the United States and nine international members.