Skip to Main Content


Orthopaedics chair receives leadership award

Medicine@Yale, 2014 - Mar Apr


Gary E. Friedlaender, M.D., chair and Wayne O. Southwick Professor of Orthopaedics and Rehabilitation and professor of pathology, is the recipient of the 2014 William W. Tipton Jr., M.D. Leadership Award from the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons (AAOS). The award recognizes leadership, mentorship, and significant accomplishment in and commitment to the field of orthopaedic surgery. Friedlaender has served as chair of the Department of Orthopaedics and Rehabilitation since 1986. He received the award at the AAOS’s annual meeting in March.