Skip to Main Content

Major societies elect medical school faculty

Medicine@Yale, 2022 - May June


Inductees are singled out for their clinical accomplishments and their research

Marcella Nunez-Smith, MD, MHS ’06, has been elected to the National Academy of Medicine (NAM). Nunez-Smith is associate dean for health equity research, C.N.H. Long Professor of Medicine and Epidemiology, and professor of internal medicine, public health, and management.

Her research focuses on promoting health and health care equity for structurally marginalized populations, with a focus on centering community engagement, supporting health care workforce diversity and development, developing patient- reported measurements of health care quality, and identifying regional strategies to reduce the global burden of non-communicable diseases.

Nunez-Smith is among 100 new NAM members who were selected for their important contributions to health, medicine, and science, and one of three who are alumni/ae of Yale School of Medicine. Along with Nunez-Smith, Vivek Murthy, MD ’03, MBA ’03, United States Surgeon General; and Mandy Krauthamer Cohen, MD ’05, North Carolina’s secretary of health and human services, have been elected. Nunez-Smith joins 54 other faculty members from Yale who have been elected to NAM.

Nunez-Smith also has been elected to membership in the American Society for Clinical Investigation, along with Yale School of Medicine colleagues Charles Dela Cruz, MD, PhD, associate professor of medicine (pulmonary, critical care & sleep medicine) and of microbial pathogenesis; and Emily Wang, MD, professor of medicine (general medicine) and of public health (social and behavioral sciences). Newly elected members of the Association of American Physicians from YSM are Cary Gross, MD, professor of medicine (general medicine) and of epidemiology (chronic diseases); Elizabeth A. Jonas, MD, professor of internal medicine (endocrinology) and of neuroscience; and Patrick G. O’Connor, MD, MPH, Dan Adams and Amanda Adams Professor of General Medicine. The American Association for the Advancement of Science has elected Donald Engelman, PhD, Eugene Higgins Professor of Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry.

Previous Article
Endowment is inspired by a pandemic connection
Next Article
A farewell: This is Medicine@Yale’s final issue