Skip to Main Content


Roy S. Herbst, MD, PhD, Named a Giant of Cancer Care®

May 09, 2022

OncLive®, a leading multimedia resource for oncology professionals, is pleased to announce the winners of the 10th annual Giants of Cancer Care® awards, including Yale Cancer Center's Roy S. Herbst, MD, PhD, recipient of this year's Giants of Cancer Care® award for Lung Cancer.

“I am truly honored by this recognition as one of OncLive’s 2022 Giants of Cancer® award recipients. Throughout my career, I have been fortunate to stand on the shoulders of giants—the many colleagues, friends, and of course patients who have worked together to raise the bar against lung cancer. Together, we are making progress and the advances in research and treatment are making an impact on the lives of our patients and their families,” said Roy S. Herbst, MD, PhD, Deputy Director for Clinical Affairs at Yale Cancer Center, Chief of Medical Oncology at Smilow Cancer Hospital, and Assistant Dean for Translational Research at Yale School of Medicine.

Since 2013, the program has celebrated more than 125 oncology pioneers for their groundbreaking achievements in research and clinical practice. Out of hundreds of nominations, only 14 oncologists were selected to join the prestigious 2022 class. The Giants of Cancer Care® Steering Committee selects semifinalists from nominations submitted each year, and the Selection Committee—comprised of more than 120 eminent oncologists, clinicians and researchers—then votes on the finalists in each category.

“We’d like to congratulate each and every member of this year’s class of inductees on this enormous honor,” said Mike Hennessy Jr., president and CEO of MJH Life Sciences™, the parent company of OncLive®. “It is no surprise that these oncologists were recognized for their contributions and dedication to this vital practice. They are all legends within the global field of oncology.”

This year’s inductees by award category are as follows:

  • Breast Cancer: Carlos L. Arteaga, MD, UT Southwestern Medical Center
  • Community Outreach, Education, and/or Cancer Policy: Lori J. Pierce, MD, University of Michigan
  • Gastrointestinal Cancers: Jaffer A. Ajani, MD, The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center
  • Genitourinary Cancers: Eric J. Small, MD, UCSF Helen Diller Family Comprehensive Cancer Center
  • Gynecologic Cancers: David M. Gershenson, MD, The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center
  • Leukemia: John F. DiPersio, MD, PhD, Alvin J. Siteman Cancer Center/Washington
  • Lung Cancer: Roy S. Herbst, MD, PhD, Yale Cancer Center/Smilow Cancer Hospital
  • Lymphoma: Julie M. Vose, MD, MBA, University of Nebraska Medical Center
  • Myeloma: Robert Z. Orlowski, MD, PhD, The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center
  • Prevention/Genetics: Louis M. Staudt, MD, PhD, National Institutes of Health
  • Radiation Oncology: Patricia J. Eifel, MD, The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center
  • Supportive, Palliative, and/or Geriatric Care: Jennifer Sue Temel, MD, Massachusetts General Hospital/Harvard Medical School
  • Translational Science: Luis A. Diaz, MD, Jr, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center

The award ceremony will take place on Thursday, June 2, 2022, at 7:00 p.m. CST at the Adler Planetarium in Chicago.

Submitted by Renee Gaudette on May 09, 2022