Skip to Main Content


Student Notes

Yale Medicine Magazine, 1998 - Summer


The Medical Student Council elected new officers in April: For president, Sharon Chekijian, A.B., Smith College; for vice president, Jen Chow, B.S., B.A., University of Arizona; and for treasurer, Rockman Ferrigno, B.A., Fairfield University. The three first-year students delivered speeches at the April 1 meeting prior to the election.

Joanne Band, was awarded the 1997 Paul H. D'Amour Founder's Fellowship by Big Y Foods Inc. The award honors the most academically outstanding graduate student in Big Y's marketing area and includes a $1,000 stipend.

Two students received awards for creative writing and community service at a faculty/student tea in the Beaumont Room on May 5. Maie Rahman St. John, a sixth-year student in the M.D./Ph.D. program received the Lerner Award and $250 for her poem about her travels around the world as a child. The late Marguerite Rush Lerner, a professor of clinical dermatology who also wrote children's stories, established the Lerner Award. Caroline Harada, a first-year student, accepted the Novartis Pharmaceuticals Corp. Award on behalf of COVS, the Committee on Volunteer Services, which she chairs. The annual award, a complete 10-volume set of the Netter Atlas, recognizes community service by students. The COVS coordinates volunteer efforts by students in public health, nursing and medicine.