Skip to Main Content

David Hafler Elected to the Association of American Physicians

February 10, 2021
by Allison Greco

David Hafler, MD, FANA, William S. and Lois Stiles Edgerly Professor of Neurology and Professor of Immunobiology; Chair, Department of Neurology; Neurologist-in-Chief, Yale New Haven Hospital has been elected to the Association of American Physicians (AAP). Dr. Hafler will join the other approximately 1,900 members of this highly selective medical society.

“The Association of American Physicians (AAP) is an honorary medical society founded in 1885 by the Canadian physicist Sir William Osler and six other distinguished physicians of his era…Election to the AAP is an honor extended to physicians with outstanding credentials in basic or translational biomedical research and is limited to 70 persons per year,” according to the Association’s website.

In addition to honoring distinguished physicians, the AAP is a collaborative and goal-oriented society, as outlined in its mission statement:

“The overarching goals of the AAP include the promotion of professional and social interaction among biomedical scientists, the dissemination of important information related to biomedical science and teaching, the recognition of outstanding, diverse, physician-scientists through membership, and the establishment of role models to kindle new generations of high achievers in medicine and medical science.”

Dr. Hafler’s induction into the AAP will be celebrated at the virtual AAP meeting on Friday, April 9, 2021.

Congratulations, Dr. Hafler!

Submitted by Allison Greco on February 10, 2021