Skip to Main Content

Five Residents Selected for American Psychiatric Association Fellowships

March 26, 2020

The American Psychiatric Association (APA) has selected five Yale Department of Psychiatry residents to participate in 2020 fellowship programs.

Amanda Calhoun, MD, MPH; Eden Almasude, MD, MA; and Eunice Yuen, MD, PhD, were selected for the APA Foundation’s SAMHSA Funded Minority Fellowship Program. Tanner Bommersbach, MD, MPH, was chosen for the APA Foundation’s Public Psychiatry Fellowship Program and Ayala Danzig, MD, MSW, was selected for the APA Foundation Leadership Fellowship Program.

Supported by the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA), the Minority Fellowship is for one year, with the possibility of renewal for a second year, and begins October 1, 2020. Fellowship grantees receive about $25,000 to be used toward their proposed project and related expenses and attendance at up to two APA annual meetings.

The two-year Public Psychiatry fellowship program provides support for residents interested in the field of public and community psychiatry. This program creates opportunities for residents to participate in important APA activities, plan workshops at APA meetings, and interact with thought leaders in the field of public psychiatry. The fellowship, which starts July 1, 2020, will pay for travel and hotel expenses for up to four meetings.

The Leadership Fellowship Program aims to develop national leaders in the field of organized psychiatry by offering psychiatry trainees opportunities to interact with national thought leaders in the field and to further develop their professional leadership skills, networks, and psychiatric experiences. It also pays for travel to meetings.

Submitted by Christopher Gardner on March 26, 2020