Skip to Main Content

James Leckman, MD, PhD

Neison Harris Professor in the Child Study Center and Professor of Pediatrics; Affiliated Faculty, Yale Institute for Global Health

Contact Information

James Leckman, MD, PhD

Patient Care Locations

Office Location

Mailing Address

  • Child Study Center

    PO Box 207900, 230 South Frontage Road

    New Haven, CT 06520-7900

    United States



James F. Leckman, M.D. is the Neison Harris Professor of Child Psychiatry, Psychiatry, Psychology and Pediatrics at Yale. Dr. Leckman is a well-known child psychiatrist and patient-oriented clinical investigator. For more than 20, years he served as the Director of Research for the Yale Child Study Center.

His peers have regularly selected him as one of the Best Doctors in America. Dr. Leckman is the author or co-author of over 430 original articles published in peer-reviewed journals, twelve books, and 140 book chapters. Dr. Leckman has a longstanding interest in Tourette syndrome and Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder (OCD). His research on these disorders is multifaceted from phenomenology and natural history, to neurobiology to genetics, to risk factor research and treatment studies. One area of active research interest concerns the role of the immune system in the pathobiology of Tourette syndrome and other neuropsychiatric disorders.

Education & Training

  • PhD
    University of São Paulo, Clinical Science (2014)
  • Fellow
    Yale University School of Medicine (1981)
  • Resident
    Connecticut Mental Health Center (1979)
  • Postdoctoral training
    National Institute of Mental Health Intramural Program, Psychiatric Genetics (1976)
  • MD
    University of New Mexico (1973)
  • BA
    College of Wooster (1969)


  • Board Certification
    AB of Psychiatry & Neurology, Child & Adolescent Psychiatry (1982)
  • Board Certification
    AB of Psychiatry & Neurology, Psychiatry (1980)

Honors & Recognition

AwardAwarding OrganizationDate
Julius Axelrod Mentorship AwardAmerican College of Neuropsychopharmacology2019
Transformative Research AwardNational Institutes of Health2011

Departments & Organizations