Skip to Main Content

Robert Alpern, MD

Ensign Professor of Medicine (Nephrology) and Professor of Cellular and Molecular Physiology

Contact Information

Robert Alpern, MD



Dr. Robert J. Alpern attended undergraduate school at Northwestern University, where he majored in Chemistry. He received his M.D. degree from the University of Chicago Pritzker School of Medicine in 1976, and received residency training in Internal Medicine at Columbia Presbyterian Hospital in New York. Following this, he performed a postdoctoral fellowship in Nephrology in the Cardiovascular Research Institute at the University of California, San Francisco. In 1982, Dr. Alpern joined the faculty at the University of California, San Francisco, and in 1987 he was recruited to the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center as Chief of the Division of Nephrology. At Southwestern Dr. Alpern held the Ruth W. and Milton P. Levy, Sr. Chair in Molecular Nephrology and the Atticus James Gill, M.D. Chair in Medical Science. In July 1998 Dr. Alpern was appointed Dean of Southwestern Medical School and in June 2004, he moved to the Yale School of Medicine to become the Ensign Professor of Medicine and Dean of the medical school. Dr. Alpern’s research has focused on the regulation of kidney transport proteins. In addition Dr. Alpern has been highly committed to teaching and clinical medicine. In 2000 he was elected President of the American Society of Nephrology. He was elected to the American Society of Clinical Investigation, the Association of American Physicians and the Institute of Medicine and has served on the Advisory Council of the National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases.

Education & Training

  • Postdoctoral Fellowship
    University of California, San Francisco (1982)
  • Resident
    Columbia Presbyterian Hospital (1979)
  • MD
    University of Chicago (1976)
  • BA
    Northwestern University (1972)


  • Board Certification
    AB of Internal Medicine, Nephrology (1982)
  • Board Certification
    AB of Internal Medicine, Internal Medicine (1979)

Honors & Recognition

AwardAwarding OrganizationDate
John P. Peters AwardAmerican Society of Nephrology2008
Institute of Medicine2007
NIH Merit Award1995
Association of American PhysiciansAssociation of American Physicians1993
American Society of Clinical InvestigationAmerican Society of Clinical Investigation1987
Alpha Omega Alpha1976
Phi Beta Kappa1972

Departments & Organizations