Skip to Main Content


Nancy J. Brown, MD

Jean and David W. Wallace Dean of the Yale School of Medicine and C.N.H. Long Professor of Internal Medicine

Contact Information

Nancy J. Brown, MD



Dr. Brown graduated from Yale College, where she majored in molecular biophysics and biochemistry. She earned her medical degree from Harvard University. She completed internship and residency programs in medicine at Vanderbilt University, where she also did a fellowship in clinical pharmacology. Dr. Brown joined the faculty of Vanderbilt in 1992 and held a number of leadership positions, serving as chief of the Division of Clinical Pharmacology, associate dean for clinical and translational scientist development, and Robert H. Williams professor before becoming the Hugh J. Morgan Chair of Medicine and physician-in-chief of Vanderbilt University Hospital in 2010.

In 2020, she became Jean and David W. Wallace Dean of Medicine and C.N.H. Long Professor of Internal Medicine at Yale School of Medicine. Dr. Brown has long been committed to medical education and mentorship. At Vanderbilt, she established the Elliot Newman Society to support the development of physician-scientists and co-founded the Vanderbilt Master of Science in Clinical Investigation program. Her research has defined the molecular mechanisms through which commonly prescribed blood pressure and diabetes drugs affect the risk of cardiovascular and kidney disease. In her clinical practice, she has treated patients with resistant and secondary forms of hypertension. Dr. Brown has served as a member of the NIH National Advisory Research Resources Council and the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Advisory Council. She was president of the Association of Professors of Medicine. In 2019, she was elected a Master of the American College of Physicians.Her numerous awards include election to the American Society for Clinical Investigation, the Association of American Physicians, and the National Academy of Medicine. She is a member of the American Association of Arts and Sciences.

Education & Training

  • Fellow in Clinical Pharmacology
    Vanderbilt University (1991)
  • Medicine Intern and Resident
    Vanderbilt University (1989)
  • MD
    Harvard University (1986)
  • Development Scientist
    Energy Resources Company, Inc. (1982)
  • AB
    Yale College, Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry (1981)


  • Board Certification
    AB of Internal Medicine, Internal Medicine (1989)

Honors & Recognition

AwardAwarding OrganizationDate
August M. Watanabe Prize in Translational ResearchIndiana University School of Medicine2021
Elected Member to the American Academy of Arts & SciencesAmerican Academy of Arts & Sciences2021
Elected MasterAmerican College of Physicians2019
A. Ross McIntyre Award for Achievement in Medical ScienceUniversity of Nebraska College of Medicine2018
Robert H. Williams, M.D. Distinguished Chair of Medicine AwardAssociation of Professors of Medicine2018
MemberNational Academy of Medicine (formerly Institute of Medicine)2014
FellowAmerican Association for the Advancement of Science2012
MemberAmerican Clinical and Climatological Association2010
E.K. Frey-E. Werle Foundation Promotion Prize2009
Harriet Dustan AwardAmerican Heart Association Council for High Blood Pressure Research2009
MemberAssociation of American Physicians2008
Hedwig van Ameringen Executive Leadership in Academic Medicine (ELAM)Institute for Women’s Health and Leadership, Drexel University College of Medicine2005, 2006
MemberAmerican Society for Clinical Investigation2003
American Federation for Clinical Research Outstanding Investigator Award2002
American Society of Hypertension Young Scholar Award2001
Elected FellowCouncil for High Blood Pressure Research, American Heart Association1999
Merck Sharp and Dohme Fellowship Award for Excellence in High Blood Pressure ResearchCouncil for High Blood Pressure Research1991

Departments & Organizations