Skip to Main Content

Nancy Carrasco, MD

Professor Adjunct

Contact Information

Nancy Carrasco, MD

Lab Location

  • Sterling Hall of Medicine, B-Wing
    333 Cedar Street, Ste BE-60
    New Haven, CT 06510



Nancy Carrasco received her M.D. and Masters in Biochemistry degrees from the National Autonomous University of Mexico and did her postdoctoral training at the Roche Institute of Molecular Biology. She joined the Department of Molecular Pharmacology at the Albert Einstein College of Medicine as a faculty member in 1987 and the Department of Cellular and Molecular Physiology at the Yale School of Medicine in 2011.

She is the recipient of the Pew Award in the Biomedical Sciences, the Arnold and Mabel Beckman Foundation Award, the Maria Sibylla Merian Award (Germany), the Merck Prize from the European Thyroid Association (Poland), the Marshall S. Horwitz Faculty Award (New York), and the Light of Life Award (New York), among others. She delivered the Rose Pitt-Rivers Lecture (Scotland) and the American Thyroid Association Plenary Lecture (Canada), and was named Coleman Fellow in the Life Sciences (Israel), among many other honors. Her research on the Na+/I- symporter (NIS), the key plasma membrane protein that mediates active iodide transport in the thyroid, lactating breast, and other tissues, ranges from biochemical, biophysical, and physiological investigations to translational studies. She has served as president of the Society of Latin American Biophysicists. Dr. Carrasco was elected to the National Academy of Sciences in 2015.

Education & Training

  • Fellow
    Roche Institute of Molecular Biology (1986)
  • MS
    National Autonomous University of Mexico(UNAM), Biochemistry (1981)
  • Fellow
    UNAM (1981)
  • MD
    National Autonomous University of Mexico (UNAM) (1980)

Honors & Recognition

AwardAwarding OrganizationDate
The American Thyroid Association Sidney H. Ingbar Distinguished Lectureship Award2016
Elected to the National Academy of Sciences 2015
Vice-chair, "Mechanisms of Membrane Transport" Gordon Research Conference2011
Light of Life Award2011
Marshall S. Horwitz Faculty Award for Research Excellence.Albert Einstein College of Medicine2009
Peter F. Curran Lecture. Yale School of Medicine2009
Coleman Fellow in Life Sciences, Ben-Gurion University (Israel) 2008
Rose Pitt-Rivers Lecturer at the British Endocrine Society Meeting (Scotland) 2003
Merck Prize (Poland)European Thyroid Association2002
Chair of the Gordon Research Conference on "Membrane Transporters: Physiological and Pathological Implications" 2002
Maria Sibylla Merian Award (Germany)2001
Melini Award for Biomedical Excellence1998

Professional Service

Latin American Pew Fellows Selection Committee2011 - Present
Member of the External Review Committee of the Fundación Instituto Leloir, Buenos Aires, Argentina 2007 - Present
National Institutes of HealthEndocrinology Study Section1997 - 2001
National Institutes of HealthCBY-2 Study Section (1993), Endocrinology Study Section (1997)1993 - 1997
Biophysical SocietyMember
The American Thyroid AssociationMember
American Association for the Advancement of ScienceMember
Endocrine SocietyMember

Departments & Organizations