Skip to Main Content

Adebowale Adeniran, MD

Professor of Pathology; Director of Cytopathology; Director, Cytology Laboratory; Director, Cytopathology Fellowship Program, Pathology; Director, Anatomic Pathology Elective Program, Pathology

Contact Information

Adebowale Adeniran, MD

Patient Care Location

Office Location



Dr. Adebowale Adeniran is an experienced surgical pathologist and cytopathologist, and currently Director of Cytopathology and the Cytology Laboratory. Dr. Adeniran obtained his MD degree from the University of Ibadan, Nigeria. He did his anatomic/clinical pathology residency at the University of Cincinnati Medical Center, followed by surgical pathology fellowship (with special interest in genitourinary pathology) at the University of Texas M.D. Anderson Cancer Center and cytopathology fellowship at the Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center. Dr. Adeniran is a practicing surgical and cyto pathologist, with a research focus on clinico-pathologic and molecular pathologic aspects of kidney cancer as well as thyroid cancer. He is a reviewer of several peer-reviewed journals including Thyroid, Acta Cytologica, Diagnostic Cytopathology and Cancer Cytopathology. He has authored more than 50 papers, 5 book chapters, and co-authored the textbook Common Diagnostic Pitfalls in Thyroid Cytopathology. He currently serves as Chairman, Publications and Newsletter committee of Papanicolaou Society of Cytopathology.

Education & Training

  • Fellow
    Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center (2008)
  • Fellow
    M.D. Anderson Cancer Center (2007)
  • Resident
    University of Cincinnati Medical Center (2006)
  • MD
    University of Ibadan (1995)

Honors & Recognition

AwardAwarding OrganizationDate
The Averill A. Liebow Award for Excellence in the Teaching of Pathology ResidentsDepartment of Pathology, Yale School of Medicine2022
Urology Residents Teacher of the year AwardDepartment of Urology, Yale School of Medicine2014
The Averill A. Liebow Award for Excellence in the Teaching of Pathology ResidentDepartment of Pathology, Yale University School of Medicine2011
2007 Benjamin Castleman Award for the best published paper in the field of human pathologyUnited States and Canadian Academy of Pathology (USCAP)2007
2005 Resident Education ScholarshipThe Group for Research in Pathology Education (GRIPE)2005

Professional Service

International Accreditation Committee, College of American PathologistsCommittee Member2022 - Present
Education Committee, United States and Canadian Academy of PathologyCommittee Member2021 - Present
Clinical Practice Committee, American Society of CytopathologyCommittee Member2020 - Present
Tissue Committee, Yale New Haven HospitalCo-Chair2018 - Present
CheckPath Clinical Pathology Committee, American Society for Clinical PathologyCommittee Member2018 - Present

Departments & Organizations