Skip to Main Content

Nancy J. Brown, MD

Jean and David W. Wallace Dean of the Yale School of Medicine and C.N.H. Long Professor of Internal Medicine

Contact Information

Nancy J. Brown, MD



Nancy J. Brown, M.D. is the Jean and David W. Wallace Dean of Yale School of Medicine and the C.N.H. Long professor of Internal Medicine. A graduate of Yale College and Harvard Medical School, Dr. Brown has led a translational research program that focuses on developing new pharmacological strategies to prevent vascular disease in patients with high blood pressure and diabetes.

Throughout her career, Dr. Brown has worked to promote the development of physician-scientists. She established the Vanderbilt Master of Science in Clinical Investigation in 2000. From 2006-2010, she served as the Associate Dean for Clinical and Translational Scientist Development and established an institutional infrastructure to support physician-scientists in the transition to independence.

From 2010 to 2020, Dr. Brown served as chair of the Vanderbilt Department of Medicine and physician-in-chief of Vanderbilt University Hospital. Dr. Brown was a member of the NIH National Advisory Research Resources Council and the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Advisory Council. Her research has been recognized by the American Heart Association (Harriet Dustan Award), the E.K. Frey-E. Werle Foundation, the American Society of Hypertension and the American Federation for Clinical Research. In 2018, she was named the Robert H. Williams, MD, Distinguished Chair of Medicine by the Association of Professors of Medicine.

Dr. Brown is a fellow in the American Association for the Advancement of Science and a member of the American Society for Clinical Investigation, the American Association of Physicians, the National Academy of Medicine, and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Education & Training

  • Fellow in Clinical Pharmacology
    Vanderbilt University (1991)
  • Medicine Intern and Resident
    Vanderbilt University (1989)
  • MD
    Harvard University (1986)
  • Development Scientist
    Energy Resources Company, Inc. (1982)
  • AB
    Yale College, Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry (1981)


  • Board Certification
    AB of Internal Medicine, Internal Medicine (1989)

Honors & Recognition

AwardAwarding OrganizationDate
August M. Watanabe Prize in Translational ResearchIndiana University School of Medicine2021
Elected Member to the American Academy of Arts & SciencesAmerican Academy of Arts & Sciences2021
Elected MasterAmerican College of Physicians2019
A. Ross McIntyre Award for Achievement in Medical ScienceUniversity of Nebraska College of Medicine2018
Robert H. Williams, M.D. Distinguished Chair of Medicine AwardAssociation of Professors of Medicine2018
MemberNational Academy of Medicine (formerly Institute of Medicine)2014
FellowAmerican Association for the Advancement of Science2012
MemberAmerican Clinical and Climatological Association2010
E.K. Frey-E. Werle Foundation Promotion Prize2009
Harriet Dustan AwardAmerican Heart Association Council for High Blood Pressure Research2009
MemberAssociation of American Physicians2008
Hedwig van Ameringen Executive Leadership in Academic Medicine (ELAM)Institute for Women’s Health and Leadership, Drexel University College of Medicine2005, 2006
MemberAmerican Society for Clinical Investigation2003
American Federation for Clinical Research Outstanding Investigator Award2002
American Society of Hypertension Young Scholar Award2001
Elected FellowCouncil for High Blood Pressure Research, American Heart Association1999
Merck Sharp and Dohme Fellowship Award for Excellence in High Blood Pressure ResearchCouncil for High Blood Pressure Research1991

Departments & Organizations