Skip to Main Content

Department Thesis Chairs

OSR’s mission is executed at the departmental level by “Departmental Thesis Chairs.” These individuals serve a critical role in the cultivation and management of YSM’s student research enterprise and fulfill myriad roles related to medical student research at YSM. While their title denotes their role in the thesis process, their responsibilities extend to numerous OSR functions including:

  1. supporting students in their search for a mentor;
  2. provision of feedback on students’ proposals for research funding;
  3. approval of short term requests before a final review in OSR (Research Funding); and
  4. approval of applications for one-year funding prior to final review in OSR.

During the fourth year of medical school, when the student prepares the required thesis, Departmental Thesis Chairs perform critical functions including:

  1. communication with students regarding departmental deadlines for thesis submission and review (Thesis Deadlines);
  2. consideration and granting of deadline extensions;
  3. coordination of the departmental thesis review and approval process;
  4. review and approval of all theses submitted in a given department (Thesis Preparation and Approval);
  5. in very rare cases, nominating a thesis for prize consideration (see below, Thesis Awards).

Given their close working relationship with students, Departmental Thesis Chairs provide invaluable insights to OSR leadership. Drs. Chaudhry and Herzog meet with and communicate with this group regularly over the course of the academic year.

Department Thesis Chair Committee

Department Chairperson(s)
Anesthesiology Dr. Paul Heerdt
Biomedical Engineering Dr. Fahmeed Hyder
Cell Biology Dr. Peter Takizawa
Cellular & Molecular Physiology Dr. Biff Forbush
Child Study Center Dr. Andres Martin
Dermatology Dr. Keith Choate
Emergency Medicine Dr. Fuad Abujarad
Genetics Dr. Curt Scharfe
History of Medicine Dr. Naomi Rogers
Immunobiology Dr. Kevan Herold
Internal Medicine Drs. Charles Dela Cruz & Lauren Ferrante
Laboratory Medicine Dr. Ellen Foxman
Molecular Biophysics & Biochemistry Dr. William Konigsberg
Neurology Drs. Zachary Corbin & Sourav Ghosh
Neuroscience Dr. Michael Schwartz
Neurosurgery Dr. Angeliki Louvi
Obstetrics, Gynecology & Reproductive Sciences Drs. Seth Guller & Shannon Whirledge
Ophthalmology & Visual Science Dr. Ninani Kombo
Orthopaedics & Rehabilitation Dr. Jonathan Grauer
Pathology Dr. Samuel Katz
Pediatrics Dr. Jeffrey Gruen
Pharmacology Dr. Daryl Klein
Psychiatry Dr. Marc Potenza
Radiology & Biomedical Imaging Dr. Darko Pucar
School of Public Health Dr. Elizabeth Claus
Surgery Information should be sent to Interim Department Thesis Chair, Dr. Peter Gruber
Therapeutic Radiology Dr. Shari Damast
Urology Dr. Isaac Kim