Skip to Main Content

Jorge Galán, PhD, DVM

Lucille P. Markey Professor of Microbial Pathogenesis and Professor of Cell Biology

Contact Information

Jorge Galán, PhD, DVM

Mailing Address

  • Microbial Pathogenesis

    Boyer Center for Molecular Medicine, 295 Congress Av.

    New Haven, CT 06536-0812

    United States



Dr. Jorge E. Galán earned his DVM from the National University of La Plata (Argentina) and his Ph.D. in Microbiology from Cornell University. He completed postdoctoral studies at Washington University in St. Louis, and was in the Faculty at SUNY Stony Brook before coming to Yale in 1998. He is currently the Lucille B. Markey Professor of Microbiology and Professor of Cell Biology at the Yale University School of Medicine. Dr. Galán is the recipient of numerous honors and awards including the Pew Scholar in Biomedical Sciences, the Searle Scholar Award, the National Institutes of Health MERIT award in 2000 and 2015, the Hans Sigrist Prize, the Alexander M. Cruickshank Award, and the Robert Koch Prize. He is a member of the American Academy of Microbiology, the German Academy of Sciences Leopoldina, a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Sciences, and a member of the USA National Academy of Science and the USA National Academy of Medicine. He is a member of several Scientific Advisory Boards and has authored more than 200 publications in the field of bacterial pathogenesis and molecular biology.

Education & Training

  • Postdoctoral fellow
    Washington University (1990)
  • PhD
    Cornell University (1986)
  • DVM
    National University of La Plata (1980)


  • Advisory Board
    Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile (2013-2021)
    Member, Scientific Advisory Board, Millenium Science Initiative, Gobierno de Chile.
  • Advisory Board
    Switzerland 2013
    Member, Scientific Advisory Board, Biozentrum, University of Basel, Zwitzerland.
  • Advisory Board
    Switzerland 2010
    Member, Scientific Advisory Board, Global Health Institute, Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne (EPFL), Switzerland.
  • Advisory Board
    Vienna, Vienna, Austria (2008-2013)
    Member, Scientific Advisory Board
  • Advisory Board
    Montevideo, Montevideo, Uruguay 2007
    Member, Scientific Advisory Board
  • Advisory Board
    Buenos Aires, Buenos Aires F.D., Argentina 2005
    Member, Scientific Advisory Board

Honors & Recognition

AwardAwarding OrganizationDate
MemberNational Academy of Medicine, USA2019
MERIT AwardNational Institutes of Health2015
Member, Connecticut Academy of SciencesConnecticut Academy of Sciences2013
Member, National Academy of Sciences, USANational Academy of Sciences, USA2013
Robert Koch PrizeRobert Koch Foundation2011
Alexander M. Cruickshank AwardGrodon Research Conferences2010
Member, German Academy of Sciences LeopoldinaNational German Academy Leopoldina2009
Highly cited researcher in MicrobiologyISI Thomson Reuter2009
Senior Scholar Award in Global Infectious DiseasesEllison Medical Foundation2004
MemberAmerican Academy of Microbiology2003
Hans-Sigrist PrizeHans-Sigrist-Foundation, Berne, Switzerland2002
MERIT AwardNational Institutes of Health2000
Established InvestigatorAmerican Heart Association1994
Searle-Chicago Community Trust ScholarSearle-Chicago Community Trust1991
Sinsheimer Scholar in the Biomedical SciencesSinsheimer Foundation1991
Pew Scholar in the Biomedical SciencesPew Foundation1990

Professional Service

International Meeting on Type III protein Secretion Systems, Tubingen, GermanyChair2016
NIHMember, Host Interactions with Bacterial Pathogens (HIBP) Study Section2014 - 2018
American Society for Microbiology - International Meeting on Salmonella and SalmonellosisChairperson2013
International Conference on Host-Pathogen Interactioins - Baeza, SpainChair2012
Pew Scholars ProgramScientific Advisory Board2008 - 2018
American Society for MicrobiologyElli Lilly Award Selection Committee2006 - 2008
Cell Host & MicrobeEditorial Board2006 - Present
PLoS PathogensEditorial Board2005 - 2010
Damon Runyon Cancer Research FoundationScientific Advisory Board2004 - 2009
Searle Scholars ProgramScientific Advisory Board2003 - 2005
Gordon ConferencesGordon Conference on Microbial Adhesion and Signal Transduction2003
Howard Hughes Medical InstituteScientific Review Board2002 - 2010
Microbiology and Molecular Biology ReviewsEditorial Board2002 - 2006
Banbury Conference - Common themes in the pathogenesis of mammalian and plant pathogensChairperson2001
Cold Spring Harbor LaboratoriesBanbury Conference on Microbial Pathogenesis2001 - Present
Gordon ConferencesGordon Conference on Microbial Adhesion and Signal Transduction2001 - Present
Searle Scholars ProgramScientific Advisory Board2000 - 2005
Biomed CentralEditorial Board2000 - Present
Cellular MicrobiologyEditorial Board1999 - 2011
NIHBacteriology and Mycology Study Section1998 - 2002
Journal of BacteriologyEditorial Board1997 - 2005
NIHBacterial Genetics and Physiology Study Section1996 - 1998
Infection & ImmunityEditorial Board1994 - 2000
USDAStudy Section1993 - 1994

Departments & Organizations