Skip to Main Content

Joao P. De Aquino, MD

Assistant Professor of Psychiatry; Assistant Chief of the Clinical Neuroscience Research Unit (CNRU), Psychiatry

Contact Information

Joao P. De Aquino, MD

Patient Care Location

Lab Location



Dr. De Aquino is an Assistant Professor of Psychiatry at the Yale University School of Medicine and Assistant Chief of Inpatient Psychiatry at the Clinical Neuroscience Research Unit. In addition to treating persons with substance use disorders and co-occurring medical and psychiatric disorders, he combines behavioral pharmacology, computerized psychophysical techniques, and clinical trial methods to develop novel therapeutics for pain and addiction.

Education & Training

  • Advanced Research Fellowship
    Yale University & VA VISN-1 Mental Illness Research, Education, and Clinical Center (MIRECC) (2021)
  • Addiction Psychiatry Fellowship
    Yale University (2019)
  • Psychiatry Residency
    Yale University (2018)
  • MD
    Federal University of Ceara, School of Medicine (2012)

Honors & Recognition

AwardAwarding OrganizationDate
NIH R01 Research Project Grant Program National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA)2024
NIH Early Career ReviewerNational Institute of Health (NIH) Center for Scientific Review2023
ASCP New Investigator AwardAmerican Society of Clinical Psychopharmacology (ASCP)2023
ISCTM New Investigator AwardInternational Society of CNS Clinical Trials and Methodology (ISCTM)2023
COVID-19 Fund to Retain Clinical Scientists Doris Duke Foundation and Yale Center for Clinical Investigation (YCCI)2023
IMPOWR-YOU Pilot AwardIntegrative Management of Chronic Pain and Opioid Use Disorder for Whole Recovery-Yale Organizations United (IMPOWR-YOU) Research Center2022
ACNP Past Travel Awardee Progress FundingAmerican College of Neuropsychopharmacology (ACNP)2022
NIH R21 Exploratory/Developmental Research Grant AwardNational Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA)2022
CPDD Early Career Investigator Travel AwardCollege on Problems of Drug Dependence (CPDD)2022
ACNP Travel AwardAmerican College of Neuropsychopharmacology (ACNP)2021
K23 Mentored Patient-Oriented Research Career Development AwardNational Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA)2021
Mentored Clinical Research AwardRobert E. Leet and Clara Guthrie Patterson Trust2019
Early Career Investigator Travel FellowshipSociety of Biological Psychiatry (SOBP)2019
Research in Addiction Medicine Scholars (RAMS)Boston University School of Medicine & National Institute of Drug Abuse (NIDA)2019
Laughlin FellowshipAmerican College of Psychiatrists (ACP)2018
Seymour L. Lustman Resident Research AwardYale Department of Psychiatry2018
Trainee Travel AwardAssociation of Directors of Medical Student Education in Psychiatry (ADMSEP)2018
Career Development Institute for Psychiatry AwardUniversity of Pittsburgh School of Medicine & Stanford University School of Medicine2018
Early Career Addiction Psychiatry AwardAmerican Academy of Addiction Psychiatry (AAAP)2017
Research Colloquium for Junior Investigators AwardAmerican Psychiatric Association (APA)2016

Professional Service

American Academy of Addiction Psychiatry (AAAP)Research Committee Co-Chair2024 - Present
American Society of Clinical Psychopharmacology (ASCP)ASCP Early Career Committee 2023 - Present
National Institute of Health (NIH) Neurobiology of Pain and Itch (NPI) Study Section2023 - 2024
British Journal of Clinical PsychopharmacologyGuest Editor2023 - Present
Experimental and Clinical PsychopharmacologyEditorial Board Member2022 - Present
Janeway SocietyCouncil Member2022 - Present
College on Problems of Drug Dependence (CPDD)Human Research Committee2022 - Present
Frontiers Psychiatry Addictive DisordersEditorial Board Member2021 - Present

Departments & Organizations