Skip to Main Content


Fifteen School of Medicine Faculty Members Are Among Those Newly Elected to CASE

March 03, 2021

Fifteen faculty members affiliated with Yale School of Medicine are among the newest group elected to the Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering (CASE). Among the 17 others elected are three additional faculty from Yale University. CASE will introduce its new members at its 46th Annual Meeting, which will be held virtually on May 27.

From Yale School of Medicine:

· Daniel A. Colón-Ramos, PhD, Dorys McConnell Duberg Professor of Neuroscience and Cell Biology

· Alan C. Dardik, MD, PhD, professor of surgery (vascular) and of cellular and molecular physiology

· Enrique De La Cruz, PhD, chair and professor of molecular biophysics and biochemistry

· Gary V. Desir, MD, chair and Paul B. Beeson Professor of Medicine

· Gail D’Onofrio, MD, MS, chair and Albert E. Kent Professor of Emergency Medicine, and professor of epidemiology (chronic diseases)

· Rong Fan, PhD, Professor of Biomedical Engineering

· Antonio Giraldez, PhD, chair and Fergus F. Wallace Professor of Genetics

· Anjelica L. Gonzalez, PhD, associate professor of biomedical engineering

· Mark W. Hochstrasser, PhD, Eugene Higgins Professor of Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry, and professor of molecular, cellular and developmental biology

· Melinda L. Irwin, PhD, MPH, professor of epidemiology (chronic diseases) and associate dean for research, Yale School of Public Health

· Lisa L. Lattanza, MD, chair and professor of orthopaedics and rehabilitation

· Chen Liu, MD, PhD, chair and Anthony N. Brady Professor of Pathology

· Linda M. Niccolai, PhD, professor of epidemiology (microbial diseases)

· Heping Zhang, PhD, Susan Dwight Bliss Professor of Biostatistics, and professor of statistics and data science and in the Yale Child Study Center

· Hongyu Zhao, PhD, chair and Ira V. Hiscock Professor of Biostatistics

Also from Yale University:

· Pinelopi K. Goldberg, Elihu Professor of Economics

· Reina Maruyama, associate professor of physics

· John Wettlaufer, A.M. Bateman Professor of Earth & Planetary Sciences, and professor of applied mathematics and physics

Others elected:

· Margaret Briggs-Gowan, associate professor, interim chief, Division of Child & Adolescent Psychiatry, UConn School of Medicine

· Maria Chrysochoou, professor and head, civil & environmental engineering, UConn School of Engineering

· Michael Culmo, chief bridge engineer, CHA Consulting, Inc.

· Dipak Dey, Board of Trustees Distinguished Professor, UConn

· Pamela K. Diggle, professor & department head, Department of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology, UConn

· Yuriy Gmirya, senior technical fellow, Department of Engineering & Technology, Rotary & Mission Systems, Sikorsky, a Lockheed Martin Company

· Garth N. Graham, vice president, chief community health officer, CVS Health

· Cynthia S. Jones, professor, ecology & evolutionary biology, UConn

· Carl W. Lejuez, provost & executive vice president for academic affairs, UConn

· Tianfeng Lu, professor, mechanical engineering, UConn

· Jeffrey R. McCutcheon, professor & executive director, Fraunhofer USA Center for Energy Innovation; Al Geib Professor of Environmental Engineering Research & Education, UConn School of Engineering

· Alexander Staroselsky, associate director of research, Raytheon Technologies Research Center

· Anthony T. Vella, professor & chair, immunology, UConn School of Medicine

· Jason C. White, director, Connecticut Agricultural Experiment Station

Submitted by Robert Forman on March 04, 2021