Skip to Main Content

Resident Opportunities: Research

Resident Research Opportunities

Clinical Neuroscientist Training Program (CNSTP)

All residents in the Neurology Residency Program at Yale are encouraged to engage in research and other academic pursuits. For those who are interested in making research a major component of their academic career, we have a NIH-funded R25 program, the Yale Clinical Neuroscientist Training Program (CNSTP). The CNSTP allows up to 24 months of protected research time, with up to 9 months completed during residency (including up to 6 months of consecutive, uninterrupted research time during the PGY4 year) and the remainder completed during post-residency research fellowship. 6-12 weeks of research time can also be offered during the PGY1 year, provided residents have identified a research mentor and have outlined specific research objectives.

Note: As of the 2020-21 Residency Match season, we will be merging our two resident research tracks, and we will not offer separate research positions through the Yale Investigative Neurology Program in the match. This allows us to offer the full range of research opportunities and support to all interested residents through the the Clinical Neuroscientist Training Program (CNSTP).

Candidates for the CNSTP are selected at the beginning of the PGY3 year. Proposals from these candidates are submitted to NIH in October of the PGY3 year for final determination of funding.

Research During Elective Time

The department is fully supportive of research endeavors during the 6 months of elective time in PGY3/4. Most residents pursue scholarly work, and our residents have been highly productive in research, including basic, translational, clinical, educational, and quality improvement projects.

Current Research Track Residents and Fellows

Shobhit Singla, MD, PhD - PGY3 (mentor: Hal Blumenfeld, MD, PhD)

Sloane Heller, MD - PGY3 (mentors: Stephen Strittmatter, MD, PhD and Todd Constable, PhD)



Tova Gardin, MD, MPA - Psychiatry and Research Fellow, Yale University

Teng Peng, MD - Neurovascular Fellow, Yale University


Stacy Chu, MD - Assistant Professor of Neurology, University of Hawaii

Margy McCullough-Hicks, MD - Assistant Professor of Neurology, University of Minnesota Medical School


Krithi Irmady, MD, PhD - Physician-Scientist in Movement Disorders, Rockefeller University

Diane Chan, MD, PhD - Instructor in Neurology, Harvard Medical School and Massachusetts Institute of Technology


Emmanuelle Schindler, MD, PhD - Assistant Professor of Neurology, Yale School of Medicine


Matthew Schrag, MD, PhD - Assistant Professor, Vanderbilt University


Imran Quraishi, MD, PhD - Assistant Professor, Yale University


Nandakumar Narayanan, MD, PhD - Associate Professor, University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine (NINDS K08 awarded)


Gordon F. Buchanan, MD, PhD - Associate Professor, University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine (NINDS K08 awarded)


Dongming Cai, MD, PhD - Associate Professor, Mount Sinai Medical Center (NIA K08 and VA CDA2 awarded)


Christopher B. Ransom, MD, PhD - Assistant Professor, University of Washington/Puget Sound VA (VA CDA2 awarded)


Tanya Z. Fischer, MD, PhD - Assistant Professor, Yale School of Medicine (VA CDA2 awarded)