Skip to Main Content

Sandip Mukherjee, MD, FACC

Professor of Medicine (Cardiovascular Medicine); Fellow, Pearson College; Chief, Complex and Executive Health; Executive Medical Director, Office of the Chief Medical Officer; Cardiac Director, The Aortic Institute

Contact Information

Sandip Mukherjee, MD, FACC

Patient Care Locations

Mailing Address

  • Cardiovascular Medicine

    2 Devine Street

    North Haven, CT 06520

    United States



Dr. Mukherjee is a Professor, the Medical Director of the Aortic Institute at Yale New Haven Hospital, a senior Editor of the journal AORTA, and on the Editorial Committee of The Medical Letter. He was former medical Resident, Chief Medical Resident, and Cardiovascular Fellow at Yale. He has served as a primary investigator in more than 20 clinical trials and has been a contributing editor for UpToDate, author of several book chapters and recipient of several honors at Yale including the Betsy R. Harris Award, the Betsy Winters House Staff Award, the Hugh L Dwyer Award, and the Stephen R. Shell Award. He was a former Vice President of the South Asian Society of Atherosclerosis and Thrombosis. He is Professor of Medicine (Cardiovascular Medicine) at Yale.

With interests in consultative cardiology, preventive cardiology, diseases of the aorta, clinical research, and echocardiography, he has been recognized as "Top Doc" by Connecticut Magazine for nearly a decade and is also a Pearson Fellow at Yale University.

He is also currently Chief of the Executive Health Program at Yale New Haven Health and Executive Director with the Office of The Chief Clinical Office at Yale New Haven Health.

Education & Training

  • Fellowship
    Yale School of Medicine (1995)
  • Chief Medical Resident
    Yale School of Medicine (1992)
  • Residency
    Yale School of Medicine (1991)
  • Internship
    Yale School of Medicine (1989)
  • MD
    Texas Tech University (1988)
  • BS
    Texas A&M University, Biology (1982)

Honors & Recognition

AwardAwarding OrganizationDate
Best DoctorsNew Haven Magazine2013, 2015
Connecticut's Best Doctors 2010-2020Connecticut Magazine2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020
Who's Who in Medicine and Healthcare2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006
Society of Distinguished Teachers2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006
NOMINEE: Departmental Award for Excellence in Teaching Ambulatory Internal Medicine to Medical Students2001
Benedict R. Harris Award1996
Hugh L. Dwyer Award1993
Betsy Winters House Staff Award1992
Stephen R. Shell Award1991
Merck Award for Academic ExcellenceTexas Tech University School of Medicine1988
National Biological Honor SocietyBeta Beta Beta1978

Professional Service

Yale New Haven Executive Health ProgramChair2019 - Present
Yale Cardiac Surgery, Aortic Institute at Yale New Haven HospitalRole: Search Committee for new Surgical Director2018 - 2019
Aortic Institute Research FellowshipFounder2018 - Present
Dean's Advisory Council on Yale Climate, Yale School of MedicineMember2016 - 2017
Yale Thesis Advisor, Yale School of MedicineAdvisor for David Dupee2016 - Present
New Haven County Medical AssociationBoard of Directors2016 - Present
Physician Executive Council, Yale New Haven HospitalMember2016 - Present
Joint Leadership Council, Yale New Haven HospitalMember2016 - Present
Medical Leadership Council, Yale New Haven HospitalMember2016 - Present
Yale School of Medicine / Yale New Haven HospitalMentor for Grace Baldwin - Ms. Baldwin is now attending Harvard Medical School2015 - 2016
Medical Staff Engagement Committee, Yale New Haven HospitalCo-Chair2015 - Present
Echocardiography Reading Panel, Yale Heart and Vascular CenterMember2015 - Present
AORTAAssociate Editor2013 - Present
Yale Aortic Institute CME Monthly ConferenceCo-Director2010 - Present
Pearson College, Yale UniversityFellow2005 - Present
The Medical LetterRole: Senior Editorial Committee1999 - Present
Catheterization and Cardiovascular InterventionsGuest Editor1996 - 2006
American College of CardiologyFellow1996 - Present
Committee on Part-Time Faculty Appointments & Promotions, Yale School of MedicineMember1995 - Present

Departments & Organizations