Skip to Main Content

Gerald I Shulman

George R. Cowgill Professor of Medicine (Endocrinology) and Professor of Cellular And Molecular Physiology; Co-Director, Yale Diabetes Research Center, Internal Medicine

Contact Information

Gerald I Shulman, MD, PhD, MACP, MACE

Patient Care Location

Mailing Address

  • Endocrinology

    PO Box 208020, TAC S269, 333 Cedar Street

    New Haven, CT, 06520-8020

    United States



Dr. Shulman is the George R. Cowgill Professor of Medicine and Cellular & Molecular Physiology at Yale. He is also Co-Director of the Yale Diabetes Research Center. Dr. Shulman has pioneered the use of magnetic resonance spectroscopy combined with mass spectrometry to non-invasively examine intracellular glucose and fat metabolism in humans and transgenic rodent models that have led to several paradigm shifts in our understanding of type 2 diabetes (T2D), including the molecular mechanisms by which ectopic lipid promotes liver and muscle insulin resistance, as well as developing new drugs for the treatment of T2D, nonalcoholic fatty liver disease (NAFLD) and nonalcoholic steatohepatitis (NASH). Dr. Shulman is the recipient of the Stanley J. Korsymeyer Award from the American Society for Clinical Investigation, the Outstanding Clinical Investigator Award from the Endocrine Society, the Solomon Berson Award from the American Physiological Society and the Banting Medal for Lifetime Scientific Achievement from the American Diabetes Association. Dr. Shulman is a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, Inaugural Fellow of the American Physiological Society and he has been elected to the American Society for Clinical Investigation, the Association of American Physicians, the National Academy of Medicine, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and the National Academy of Sciences.

Education & Training

  • Research Fellow
    Massachusetts General Hospital/Harvard Medical School (1984)
  • Resident
    Duke University Medical Center (1981)
  • MD
    Wayne State University (1979)
  • PhD
    Wayne State University, Physiology (1979)

Honors & Recognition

AwardAwarding OrganizationDate
Elected to Mastership, American College of PhysiciansAmerican College of Physicians2020
Samuel Eichold II Memorial Award for Contributions in DiabetesAmerican College of Physicians2020
Arthur Riggs Award for Discoveries in the Basic SciencesCity of Hope2019
Stanley Mirsky AwardIchan School of Medicine2019
Fellow, American Association for the Adancement of ScienceAmerican Association for the Adancement of Science2015
Fellow, American Physiological SocietyAmerican Physiological Society2015
Solomon Berson AwardAmerican Physiological Society2015
Sir Philip Randle AwardBiochemical Society2013
Frontier of Science AwardAmerican Association of Clinical Endocrinologists2012
Outstanding Clinical Investigator AwardEndocrine Society2012
Distinguished Leader in Insulin Resistance AwardWorld Congress on the Insulin Resistance Syndrome2008
Stanley J. Korsmeyer AwardAmerican Society for Clinical Investigation2008
Naomi Berrie Award for Outstanding Achievement in Diabetes ResearchColumbia University2007
Elected to the National Academy of SciencesNational Academy of Sciences2007
Election to the National Academy of MedicineNational Academy of Medicine2005
Distinguished Clinical Scientist AwardAmerican Diabetes Association2004
Josiah Brown Award in DiabetesUniveristy of California, Los Angeles2001
Freedom to Discover AwardBristol Myers Squibb1997
Novartis Award in DiabetesNovartis1997
Outstanding Scientific Achievement AwardAmerican Diabetes Association1997
Diabetes Care Research AwardJuvenile Diabetes Research Foundation, Int./Boehringer Mannheim1997
Outstanding Investigator Award in Clinical ResearchAmerican Federation for Clinical Research1995

Departments & Organizations