Skip to Main Content

2020 Rise Award Winner and ACLPS Ellis Benson Award Winner, Jeanne Hendrickson, MD

May 26, 2020

Jeanne Hendrickson of Laboratory Medicine has had a paper she co-authored, “Prevalence and risk factors for RBC alloantibodies in blood donors in the Recipient Epidemiology and Donor Evaluation Study-III (REDS-III),” selected as the best paper published in TRANSFUSION’s 2019 volume, and thus, winner of this year’s RISE Award. Of note, some of her co-authors are also currently in the department of Laboratory Medicine at Yale including; Christopher A Tormey and Ronald G Hauser, as well as previously in the department Bryan R Spencer and Yanyun Wu.

This award recognizes impeccable study design, innovation, significance, and effective communication in any area of knowledge covered by the journal. Selection of the best article is made collaboratively by the journal’s Associate Editors and the NBF Scientific Research Grants Review Committee.

The 2020 RISE Award will be presented at AABB’s 2020 Annual Meeting General Session on Saturday, October 3, in Baltimore, Maryland. The award will be presented by Richard Kaufman, MD, Editor-in-Chief of TRANSFUSION, and the journals Associate Editors.

Dr. Hendrickson is also the 2020 ACLPS Ellis Benson Award Winner. This premier award is given to a young faculty member in recognition of meritorious accomplishment in the field of laboratory medicine. It honors research, service & teaching in Laboratory Medicine.

Dr. Hendrickson will be presenting the Ellis Benson Lecture as award winner this year at the ACLPS virtual meeting. Her lecture is entitled, “RBC Alloimmunization: All the Time or Almost Never?”

Congratulations Jeanne on your awards!

Submitted by June Fisher on May 27, 2020