Skip to Main Content


Committee on Diversity & Inclusion

The Program has had a strong commitment to recruiting a diverse cohort of students from backgrounds traditionally underrepresented in medicine and in the sciences; students with disabilities; and students from diverse geographic, economic, racial and ethnic, religious backgrounds. The Committee on Diversity and Inclusion was formed to continue on-going discussions, planning of events and workshops, and attendance of student representatives at recruitment fairs such as SACNAS and ABRCMS to ensure that the MD-PhD program’s is an inclusive community where students’ multiple and intersecting identities are affirmed and valued. The Committee meets every other month with the Program’s leadership.

Current Committee members are Dan Barson, Shivani Bhatt, Nicholas Economos, Carrie Flynn, Kelsey Loeliger, Jessica Minor, Alyssa Mitson-Salazar, Danielle Miyagishima, Mytien Nguyen, Elias Quijano, Rebecca Treger and Lorenzo Sewanan.