Skip to Main Content

2021 MD-PhD Graduates

August 11, 2021


Shivani Bhatt MD’21, PhD’20
Imaging the Neural Immune and Stress Systems in PTSD
Advisor: Kelly Cosgrove, INP: Interdepartmental Neuroscience Program

Sean Bickerton, MD’21, PhD’19
Nanoparticle Systems for In Vivo Generation of Regulatory T Cells in Autoimmune Disease Therapy
Advisor: Tarek Fahmy, Biomedical Engineering

Nashid Chaudhury, MD’21, PhD’20
Inhibitory Receptors Play a Role in LocalizingPostsynaptic Scaffold to Synapses
Advisor: Susumu Tomita, INP: Interdepartmental Neuroscience Program

Dimitri de Kouchkovsky, MD’21, PhD’19
Naïve CD4+T Cell Sensing of Host Environment Modulates Subsequent Immune Responses
Advisor: Carla Rothlin, Immunobiology

Swethasri Dravida, MD’21, PhD’20
Neural Mechanisms of Live Interactive Joint Attention:A Simultaneous fNIRS/EEG Hyperscanning Investigation
Advisor: Joy Hirsch, INP: Interdepartmental Neuroscience Program

Alanna Kaplan, MD’21, PhD’19
Novel Methods for Inhibiting DNA Double Strand Break Repairfor Use in Cancer Therapy
Advisor: Peter Glazer, Experimental Pathology Program

Angela Lee, MD’21, PhD’20
Sex Differences in Mouse Models of Nicotine Addiction
Advisor: Marina Picciotto, INP: Interdepartmental Neuroscience Program

Don Li, MD’21, PhD’19
Two Ways from the Golgi: Integrating Glucose and Energy through TUG Protein
Advisor: Jonathan Bogan, Cell Biology

George Linderman, MD’21, PhD’19
Efficient Methods for Imputation, Dimensionality Reduction,and Visualization of Biomedical Datasets
Advisor: Yuval Kluger, Applied Mathematics

Jonathan Marquez, MD’21, PhD’20
The Role of EMC1 in Congenital Disease: Defects in Membrane Protein Topogenesis Alters the Neural Crest and Derived Tissues
Advisor: Mustafa Khokha, Genetics

Matthew Meizlish, MD’21, PhD’21
Macrophage mechanosensing of the tissue environment and signal integration through the cytoskeleton
Advisor: Ruslan Medzhitov, Immunobiology

Erin Reed, MD’21, PhD’19
Expecting the Unexpected: The Paranoid Style of Belief Updating Across Species
Advisor: Philip Corlett, INP: Interdepartmental Neuroscience Program

Lorenzo Sewanan, MD’21, PhD’20
Investigating the multiscale mechanobiology ofhypertrophic cardiomyopathy
Advisor: Stuart Campbell, Biomedical Engineering

Alexander Svoronos, MD’21, PhD’20
Tumor-Targeted Inhibition of Oncogenic MicroRNAs for Cancer Therapy using a pH-Low Insertion Peptide (pHLIP)
Advisor: Donald Engelman, MBB: Molecular Biophysics & Biochemistry


The MD-PhD Thesis Prize was awarded to Alanna Kaplan and Lorenzo Sewanan for the most outstanding MD-PhD theses.

The MD-PhD Award was awarded to Sean Bickerton and George Linderman as outstanding members of the graduating MD-PhD class who have shown excellence in both research and clinical activities.

The MD-PhD Alumni Award was awarded to Shivani Bhatt and Don Li for demonstrating outstanding academic achievements, leadership and service.

The Selma and Karl Folkers Prize in Biomedical Research was awarded to Swetha Dravida and Jonathan Marquez for thesis research that demonstrated excellence in basic cell and molecular biology.

Stefano Daniele (who defended his PhD but has not yet graduated from the MD-PhD Program) was awarded the John Addison Porter Prize for a written work of scholarship in any field in which it is possible, through original effort, to gather and relate facts and/or principles and to make the product of general human interest.

Submitted by Reiko Fitzsimonds on August 06, 2021