Skip to Main Content

Newly Elected Members of Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering

February 21, 2022

Newly elected members of Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering from Yale Schools of Medicine and of Public Health:

Anton M. Bennett, Dorys McConnell Duberg Professor of Pharmacology and Professor of Comparative Medicine, Yale School of Medicine

Kristen Brennand, Professor of Psychiatry, Yale School of Medicine

Susan Busch, Professor of Public Health (Health Policy and Management) and Professor in the Institution for Social and Policy Studies, Yale School of Public Health

Lieping Chen, United Technologies Corporation Professor in Cancer Research, Professor of Immunobiology, Medicine (Medical Oncology) and Dermatology, Yale School of Medicine

Ted Cohen, Professor of Epidemiology (Microbial Diseases); Co-director, Public Health Modeling Concentration, Yale School of Public Health

Cindy A. Crusto, Professor of Psychiatry; Deputy Chair for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion, Yale School of Medicine

Vishwa D. Dixit, Waldemar Von Zedtwitz Professor of Comparative Medicine and Immunology, Yale School of Medicine

Joel E. Gelernter, Foundations Fund Professor of Psychiatry and Professor of Genetics and of Neuroscience; Director, Division of Human Genetics (Psychiatry), Yale School of Medicine

Valentina Greco, Carolyn Walch Slayman Professor of Genetics, Yale School of Medicine

Amy Justice, CNH Long Professor of Medicine and Public Health, Internal Medicine, Yale School of Medicine

Barbara I. Kazmierczak, Gustavus and Louise Pfeiffer Research Foundation M.D.-Ph.D. Program Director and Professor of Medicine (Infectious Diseases) and of Microbial Pathogenesis, Yale School of Medicine

Marcella Nunez-Smith, C.N.H. Long Professor of Internal Medicine (General Medicine), of Epidemiology (Chronic Disease) and of Public Health (Social And Behavioral Sciences); Inaugural Associate Dean for Health Equity Research; Founding Director of the Equity Research and Innovation Center (ERIC), Yale School of Medicine

Saad B. Omer, Director, Yale Institute for Global Health; Associate Dean (Global Health Research), Professor of Medicine (Infectious Diseases), Yale School of Medicine; Susan Dwight Bliss Professor of Epidemiology of Microbial Diseases, Yale School of Public Health

Brian R. Smith, Professor of Laboratory Medicine, of Biomedical Engineering, of Medicine (Hematology) and of Pediatrics; Deputy Dean for Clinical and Translational Research, Yale School of Medicine

Yajaira Suárez, Deputy Chair and Anthony N. Brady Associate Professor of Comparative Medicine (with Tenure), Yale School of Medicine

Election to CASE is on the basis of scientific and engineering distinction achieved through significant contributions in theory or applications, as demonstrated by original published books and papers, patents, the pioneering of new and developing fields and innovative products, outstanding leadership of nationally recognized technical teams, and external professional awards in recognition of scientific and engineering excellence. CASE was chartered by the Connecticut General Assembly in 1976 to provide expert guidance on science and technology to the people and to the state of Connecticut, and to promote the application of science and technology to human welfare and economic well-being. For more information about the Academy, please visit

Submitted by Robert Forman on February 22, 2022