Skip to Main Content


Past Endowed Lectureships

Jack R. Cooper Lecture

The Jack R. Cooper Lectureship was established in 1981 by Mohandas M. Kini, M.D. (1965) to honor Jack R. Cooper, Professor in the Pharmacology department from 1956 – 2019. Dr. Cooper was co-author of one of the foundational works in biochemical neuropharmacology “The Biochemical Basis of Neuropharmacology" and was a pioneer in studying the role of thiamine in the nervous system.


Jean-Pierre Changeux, Pasteur Institute “Allosteric mechanism of signal transduction investigated with pentameric ligand-gated ion channels”


Baldomero Olivera, Distinguished Professor, Biology Department, University of Utah, "Conus Venom Peptides, Ion Channel Diversity and Constellation Pharmacology"


Leslie Vosshall, Rockefeller University "Human Sweat and Insect Repellents: The Molecular Biology of Mosquito Chemoreception"


Charles Zuker, Professor, Biochemistry and Molecular, Biophysics/Neuroscience, Columbia University “From the tongue to the brain: the biology of mammalian taste”


David Julius, Professor and Chair of Physiology, UCSF “From Peppers to Peppermints: Natural Products as Probes of the Pain Pathway”


David Clapham, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, Professor of Neurobiology, Harvard Medical School


Marc Tessier-Lavigne, Genentech


Rodolfo Llinas, NYU School of Medicine “Of Neurons, Circuits and Cognition”


Dennis Choi, Professor and Head, Dept. of Neurology Washington University School of Medicine “Zinc and the Ischemic Brain”

Arnold D. Welch Lectureship Funds

Arnold D. Welch Lectureship was created in honor of Dr. Arnold D. Welch, chair of Pharmacology at Yale from 1953 to 1967. He was responsible for transforming the department into a modern center of research based on biochemical and structural principles that were applied to a broad spectrum of investigation from cancer chemotherapy to neurochemistry.


Mini symposium on "The Biology of Endocrine FGFs: From Basic Mechanisms to Therapeutic Opportunities" with Steven Kliewer, UT Southwestern Medical Center and David Mangelsdorf, UT Southwestern Medical Center


James Darnell, Rockefeller University “STAT3 in Cancer: Can it be inhibited?”


Barry Honig, HHMI, Ctr. for Computational Biology and Bioinformatics, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biophysics, Columbia University “Relating Cellular to Molecular Specificity”

The Alan C. Sartorelli Lecture

The Alan C. Sartorelli Lecture Fund was established on January 18, 1999 by William H. Prusoff, Professor Emeritus and Senior Research Scientist, to support a lecture series in the general areas of cancer and viral chemotherapy. Dr. Sartorelli served as Chairman of the Pharmacology Department from 1977 to 1984 and Director of the Yale Comprehensive Cancer Center from 1984 to 1993. He was a pioneer in cancer chemotherapy and was one of the first scientists to recognize the importance of matching the right drug to the right tumor, paving the way for personalized cancer care.


Douglas Hanahan, Professor of Molecular Oncology, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Lausanne, Director, The Swiss Institute for Experimental Cancer Research “Epigenetic microenvironmental determinants of tumor invasion and metastasis”


Nahum Sonenberg, Gilman Cheney Professor, McGill University, Department of Biochemistry and Goodman Cancer Research Centre “Translational control of cancer by eIF4E via the mTOR and MAPK pathways”


Joan Brugge, Harvard Medical School “Extracellular Matrix Control of Normal and Tumor Cell Survival”


John Mendelsohn, The University of Texas M.D. Anderson Cancer Center “Growth Factor Receptor Blockade as Anti-cancer Therapy”


Daniel Von Hoff, Professor and Director, Arizona Cancer Center “Clinomics – The Practice of Oncogenomics at the Bedside”

Yung-Chi Cheng Lecture

The Yung-Chi Cheng Lecture was established in 1999 by William H. Prusoff Ph.D. to support lectures in cancer and viral chemotherapy. The lectureship honors Yung-Chi Cheng, Ph.D., the Henry Bronson Professor of Pharmacology, who as a postdoc in the laboratory of Bill Prusoff, co-developed the Cheng-Prusoff equation, a key equation in pharmacology. Since then, Dr. Cheng has made major contributions to the development of drugs for cancer and viral diseases derived from traditional Chinese medicines.


Xin-Sheng Yao, Ph.D, Institute of TCM and Natural Products, Jinan University “The Opportunities and Challenges Facing the Globalization of Chinese Medicine”


Liping Zhao, Ph.D., Professor of Microbiology Director for Laboratory of Molecular Microbial Ecology and Ecogenomics School of Life Sciences and Biotechnology Director for Laboratory of Nutritional Systems Biology Shanghai Center for systems Biomedicine Shanghai Jiao tong University “Gut microbiota-targeted dietary alleviation of human genetic obesity”


Li Ping, M.D., Ph.D. Chairman, Key Lab of Arthritis and Rheumatoid Diseases, Director, Department of Pharmacology China-Japan Friendship Hospital "Treatment of Diabetic Nephropathy by Herbal Medicine"


Jun Xu, Ph.D. Professor of Medicinal Chemistry & CADD, Founding Director of Research Center for Drug Discovery "Chemomics and Polypharmacological Networks for TCM"


Enzo Tramontano, Ph.D., Chair of the Department of Life and Environmental Sciences, University of Cagliari, “HIV-1 Ribonuclease H inhibitors: multiple strategies for a still unexplored target”


Peter Palese, Ph.D. (Sartorelli, host), Professor and Chairman, Dept. of Microbiology Mount Sinai School of Medicine “The Interferon Antagonist of Influenza Viruses: Novel Vaccine and Antiviral Approaches”

Tai-Shun Lin Memorial Fund

The Tai-Shun Lin Memorial Fund was created in 1998 by William H. Prusoff, Ph.D. to support lectures in viral and cancer chemotherapy. It honors Tai-Shun Lin, Ph.D. who, along with Bill Prusoff, developed the antiviral drug d4T for the treatment of AIDS.


Gerard Karsenty, Paul A. Marks Professor and Chair Department of Genetics and Development, Columbia University Medical School, “The impact of bone on whole organism physiology”


Ruedi Aebersold, Professor and Chair of Molecular Systems Biology, Institute of Molecular Systems Biology, ETH Zurich and Faculty of Science University of Zurich, “The proteotype model: Conceptual basis and implementation”


Michael Eck, Dept of Cancer Biology, Dana Farber Cancer Institute "Tyrosine kinase regulation and dysregulation: Structural and mechanistic studies of FAK and EGFR"