Nancy Carrasco, MD

C.N.H. Long Professor of Cellular & Molecular Physiology

Departments & Organizations

Cellular & Molecular Physiology

Liver Center

Yale Cancer Center: Genomics, Genetics, and Epigenetics

Yale Combined Program in the Biological and Biomedical Sciences (BBS): Molecular Medicine, Pharmacology, and Physiology

Office of Cooperative Research


Nancy Carrasco received her M.D. and Masters in Biochemistry degrees from the National Autonomous University of Mexico and did her postdoctoral training at the Roche Institute of Molecular Biology. She joined the Department of Molecular Pharmacology at the Albert Einstein College of Medicine as a faculty member in 1987 and the Department of Cellular and Molecular Physiology at the Yale School of Medicine in 2011.

She is the recipient of the Pew Award in the Biomedical Sciences, the Arnold and Mabel Beckman Foundation Award, the Maria Sibylla Merian Award (Germany), the Merck Prize from the European Thyroid Association (Poland), the Marshall S. Horwitz Faculty Award (New York), and the Light of Life Award (New York), among others. She delivered the Rose Pitt-Rivers Lecture (Scotland) and the American Thyroid Association Plenary Lecture (Canada), and was named Coleman Fellow in the Life Sciences (Israel), among many other honors. Her research on the Na+/I- symporter (NIS), the key plasma membrane protein that mediates active iodide transport in the thyroid, lactating breast, and other tissues, ranges from biochemical, biophysical, and physiological investigations to translational studies. She has served as president of the Society of Latin American Biophysicists. Dr. Carrasco was elected to the National Academy of Sciences in 2015.

Education & Training

MS National Autonomous University of Mexico(UNAM), Biochemistry (1981)
MD National Autonomous University of Mexico (UNAM) (1980)
Fellow Roche Institute of Molecular Biology
Fellow UNAM

Honors & Recognition

  • The American Thyroid Association Sidney H. Ingbar Distinguished Lectureship Award (2016)

  • Elected to the National Academy of Sciences (2015)

  • Vice-chair, "Mechanisms of Membrane Transport" Gordon Research Conference (2011)

  • Light of Life Award (2011)

  • Marshall S. Horwitz Faculty Award for Research Excellence.Albert Einstein College of Medicine (2009)

  • Peter F. Curran Lecture. Yale School of Medicine (2009)

  • Coleman Fellow in Life Sciences, Ben-Gurion University (Israel) (2008)

  • Rose Pitt-Rivers Lecturer at the British Endocrine Society Meeting (Scotland) (2003)

  • Merck Prize (Poland)European Thyroid Association (2002)

  • Chair of the Gordon Research Conference on "Membrane Transporters: Physiological and Pathological Implications" (2002)

  • Maria Sibylla Merian Award (Germany) (2001)

  • Melini Award for Biomedical Excellence (1998)

Professional Service

  • (2011 - Present) Latin American Pew Fellows Selection Committee

  • (2007 - Present) Member of the External Review Committee of the Fundación Instituto Leloir, Buenos Aires, Argentina

  • National Institutes of Health (1997 - 2001) Endocrinology Study Section

  • National Institutes of Health (1993 - 1997) CBY-2 Study Section (1993), Endocrinology Study Section (1997)

  • Biophysical Society Member

  • The American Thyroid Association Member

  • American Association for the Advancement of Science Member

  • Endocrine Society Member

Edit this profile