Skip to Main Content

2020 Department of Internal Medicine Promotions

October 14, 2020
by Julie Parry

Within the 750 faculty within the Department of Internal Medicine, there are 532 ladder track, and 218 non-ladder track faculty. Since October of 2019, the department has promoted seven professors, 12 associate professors, 25 assistant professors, 32 instructors, two senior research scientists, three research scientists, and 21 associate research scientists.

Congratulations to the following new associate professors:

  • Renata Belfort De Aguiar, MD, PhD (Endocrinology & Metabolism)
  • Rebecca Brienza, MD, MPH (General Internal Medicine)
  • Vaidehi Chowdhary, MD (Rheumatology, Allergy & Immunology)
  • Michael Hurwitz, MD, PhD (Medical Oncology)
  • Ania Jastreboff, MD, PhD (Endocrinology & Metabolism)
  • Kasia Lipska, MD, MHS (Endocrinology & Metabolism)
  • Randy Luciano, MD, PhD (Nephrology)
  • Jaimie Meyer, MD (Infectious Diseases)
  • Sarah Mougalian, MD (Medical Oncology)
  • Tracy Rabin, MD (General Internal Medicine)
  • Jeremy Schwartz, MD (General Internal Medicine)
  • Janet Tate, MPH, ScD (General Internal Medicine)

Below is the list of new assistant professors:

  • Bubu Banini, MD, PhD (Digestive Diseases)
  • Michael Beasley, MD (Cardiovascular Medicine)
  • Mark Blitzer, MD (Cardiovascular Medicine)
  • Anca Bulgaru, MD (Medical Oncology)
  • Jill Deutsch, MD (Digestive Diseases)
  • Leslie Douglas-Churchwell, MD (General Internal Medicine)
  • Cesia Gallegos Kattan, MD (Cardiovascular Medicine)
  • Jean Paul Higuero Sevilla, MD (Pulmonary, Critical Care & Sleep Medicine)
  • Jeffrey Ishizuka, MD, DPhil (Medical Oncology)
  • Phillip Joseph, MD (Pulmonary, Critical Care & Sleep Medicine)
  • Paul Joudrey, MD (General Internal Medicine)
  • Rohan Khera, MBBS (Cardiovascular Medicine)
  • Maudry Laurent-Rolle, MD, PhD (Infectious Diseases)
  • Nimrod Lavi, MD (Cardiovascular Medicine)
  • Darrick Li, MD (Digestive Diseases)
  • Ryan McNeil, PhD (General Internal Medicine)
  • Francesca Montanari, MD (Hematology)
  • Tinika Montgomery, MD (Nephrology)
  • Lisa Parikh, MD (Endocrinology & Metabolism)
  • Alexander Pine, MD, PhD (Hematology)
  • Scott Roberts, MD (Infectious Diseases)
  • Sounok Sen, MD (Cardiovascular Medicine)
  • Tarsheen Sethi, MD (Hematology)
  • Roy Shallis, MD (Hematology)
  • Rebecca Vanasse-Passas, MD (Medical Oncology)

Welcome to the Department’s new instructors:

  • Omar Al Asad, MD
  • Yetunde Asiedu, MD
  • Isabel Bazan, MD
  • Joshua Bilsborrow, MD
  • Sabrina Browning, MD
  • Maurizio Chioccioli, PhD
  • Rupak Datta, MD, PhD
  • Kenton Dover, MD
  • Louis Fazen, MD, PhD
  • Kathleen Fenn, MD
  • Amy Gates, MD
  • Leigh Goedeke, PhD
  • Benjamin Howell, MD
  • Peter Kahn, MD
  • Jonathan Kilstrom, MPAS, PA-C, NRP
  • Yukiko Kunitomo, MD
  • Edward Manning, MD, PhD
  • Elizabeth Sanchez Rangel, MD
  • Nikhil Seval, MD
  • Lokesh Sharma, PhD
  • Junghee Jenny Shin, MD, PhD
  • Michael Simonov, MD
  • John Stendahl, MD, PhD
  • Kimberly Sue, MD, PhD
  • Sanket Thakore, MD
  • Sritika Thapa, MD
  • Thuy Tran, MD, PhD
  • David Vermette, MD
  • Sarthak Virmani, MBBS
  • Catherine Wei, MD
  • Mary Windham, MD
  • Jin Xu, MD

Congratulations to our new senior research scientists:

  • Michael Matthias, PhD (Infectious Diseases)
  • Catherine Viscoli, PhD (General Internal Medicine)

Welcome to our new research scientists:

  • Mihaela Aslan, PhD (General Internal Medicine)
  • Gary Hunnicutt, PhD (Medical Oncology)
  • Subhasis Mohanty, PhD (Infectious Diseases)

Introducing our new associate research scientists:

  • Neha Bhat, PhD
  • Marine Cacheux, PhD
  • Edward Doherty, PhD
  • Jaya Golla, PhD
  • Weiwei Guo, PhD
  • Juan Huang, MD, PhD
  • Dionna Kasper, PhD
  • Fengshan Liang, PhD
  • Jiesi Luo, PhD
  • Yina Ma, PhD
  • Alejandro Marín López, MD
  • Aline Matsuo, PhD
  • Anasuya Pal, PhD
  • Jinkyu Park, PhD
  • Kailash Patra, PhD
  • Maxim Polonsky, PhD
  • Michael Rehmen, PhD
  • Kashika Sahay, PhD
  • Roman Shrestha, PhD
  • Veronica Weser, PhD
  • Xiaolong Zhu, PhD

Please review “New Professors Within the Department of Internal Medicine” for more information on the seven people promoted and appointed to professor this year.

Submitted by Amy Anderson on October 14, 2020