Yale Cardiovascular Research Center Inaugural Symposium

March 18, 2011, TAC Auditorium

YCVRC 2011 Symposium Poster

  • 9:00-9:15 am
    Robert Alpern, Dean, Yale University School of Medicine.
    Opening Remarks

  • 9:15-9:30 am
    Jack Elias, Chair, Department of Medicine, Yale University School of Medicine.
    Opening Remarks

  • 9:30-10:00 am
    Barry Zaret, RW Berliner Professor Emeritus, Yale University School of Medicine.
    Yale Cardiology

  • 10:00-11:00 am
    Ken Chien, Director, CVRI/MGH.
    Myocardial stem cells

  • 11:00-12:00 noon
    Ken Walsh, Director, Whittaker CV Institute, Boston University School of Medicine.
    Cell-cell crosstalk- myocardium and beyond

12:00-1:00 pm Lunch

  • 1:00-2:00 pm
    Michael Parmacek, Director, University of Pennsylvania CV Institute.
    Molecular basis of congenital heart disease.

  • 2:00-3:00 pm
    Peter Carmeliet, Director, Vesalius Research Center, University of Leuven.
    Neurovascular link, angiogenesis and beyond.

  • 3:00-3:30 Coffee Break

  • 3:30-4:30
    David Pinsky, Director, University of Michigan CV Center.
    Inflammation and the heart

  • 4:30:5:30
    Shaun Coughlin, Director, CVRI/UCSF.
    Proteases in cardiovascular biology

5:30-6:30 Reception

7:00 pm Dinner

YCVRC-UCL Neurovascular Symposium, Yale University School of Medicine

Thursday, May 10

  • Afternoon – UCL investigators arrive
    5:00 pm – Welcome reception and dinner (Beach BBQ – Eichmann/Thomas residence)

Neurvascular Symposium Poster

Friday, May 11 (TAC Auditorium)

  • Eli Keshet, Hebrew University - Keynote Speaker 
    9:00 am (breakfast available in lobby) 

  • Session I (Karen Hirschi, Yale - Chair)
    10:00 am – Murat Gunel, Yale
    10:30 am – Marcus Fruttiger, UCL
    11:00 am – Christiana Ruhrberg, UCL
    11:30 am – Patric Turowski, UCL
    12:00-1:00 pm – Lunch (on site)

  • Session II (Steve Moss, UCL - Chair)
    1:00 pm – Robin Lovell-Badge, NIMR/UCL
    1:30 pm – John Greenwood, UCL
    2:00 pm – Ron Duman, Yale
    2:30 pm – Jean-Leon Thomas, Yale
    3:00 pm – Break (on site) Session III (Anne Eichmann, Yale - Chair)
    3:30 pm – Jaime Grutzendler, Yale
    4:00 pm – David Shima, UCL
    4:30 pm – Flora Vaccarino, Yale
    5:00 pm – Joseph Madri, Yale
    5:30 pm – Reception (on site)
    7:00 pm – Faculty Dinner (Clambake at Simon’s residence)

Saturday, May 12 (300 George St., 7th floor)

  • Breakfast (on site)
    9:00 am 
  • Informal presentations and grant planning sessions
    10:00 am 

YCVRC-NAVBO, Lymphatic Circulation Symposium

Omni Hotel, New Haven

Friday, May 3 2013

7:30-8:30AM Registration & breakfast

Session I: Specification of lymphatic fate and early development    Chair: Anne Eichmann

9-9:30AM Michael Simons, Yale

9:30-10AM Guillermo Oliver, St Jude    

10-10:30AM Coffee Break

Session II: Signaling in lymphatic development    Chair: Michael Simons

10:30-11AM Kristina Bostrom, UCLA    

11-11:30AM Suk-Won Jin, Yale    

11:30-12PM Anne Eichmann, Yale 

12-12:30PM Yosuke Mukoyama, NIH

12:30-1:30PM Lunch Break

1:30-2:30PM Plenary Lecture: Kari Alitalo, Helsinki New Growth Factor Mechanisms in Lymphangiogenesis          Sponsored by the Lymphatics Research Foundation

Session III: New frontiers in lymphatics biology     Chair: Jan Kitajewski

2:30-3PM Tim Hla, Cornell

3-3:30PM Jeffrey Bender, Yale

3:30-4PM Kathleen Caron, UNC

4-4:30PM Bill Sessa, Yale

4:30-6:30PM Posters & Reception

6:30-7:15PM New Technology: Derek Toomre, Yale

Saturday, May 4 2013

Session I: A word from the fishes     Chair: Suk-Won Jin

8:30-9AM Brant Weinstein, NIH

9-9:30AM Nathan Lawson, UMass

9:30-10AM Vicki Bautch, UNC

10-10:30AM Coffee Break

Session II: Mechanosensing, lymphatics and valves     Chair: Tim Hla

10:30-11AM Martin Schwartz, Yale

11-11:30AM Mark Kahn, U Penn

11:30-12PM Jan Kitajewski, Columbia

12-12:30PM Minhong Yan, Genentech

12:30-1:30 Lunch Break

Session III: Lymphatics and Disease     Chair: Bill Sessa

1:30-2PM Wang Min, Yale

2-2:30PM Nancy Ruddle, Yale

2:30-3PM Mihaela Skobe, MSSM

3-3:30PM Jens Titze, Vanderbilt

3:30-6PM Poster Session & Guided tours of Yale

YCVRC - NAVBO Cardiovascular Inflammation and Remodeling Symposium

Omni Hotel, New Haven

Thursday, May 8 2014

Vascular Malformation and Aneurysm

3:45pm    George Tellides, Yale University  

4:15pm    Anne Eichmann, Yale University

4:45pm    Jay Humphrey, Yale University  

5:15pm    Sangeok Youn, Yale University (abstract presenter) 

Keynote Lecture

6:00pm    Hal Dietz, Johns Hopkins University   

Friday, May 9 2014


8:30am    Renu Virmani, CVPath Institute

9:00am    Mukesh Jain, Case Western Reserve University

9:30am    Carlos Fernandez-Hernando, Yale University

10:00am  Paul M. Ridker, Brigham and Women's Hospital

10:30am  Laura Shankman, University of Virginia, Charlottesville (abstract presenter)


11:15am    Jens Titze, Vanderbilt University

11:45am    David Harrison, Vanderbilt University 

12:15pm    Marc Servant, Université de Montréal (abstract presenter)

12:30pm    Philip Wenzel, University Medical Center Mainz (abstract presenter)

12:45pm    Lunch and Poster Session

Pulmonary Hypertension

2:30pm    Evangelos Michelakis, University of Alberta

3:00pm    Hyung Chun, Yale University

3:30pm    Ruben Tuder, University of Colorado, Denver

4:00pm    Karim El Kasmi, University of Colorado Denver (abstract presenter)

Endothelial-Mesenchymal Transition

4:45pm    Raghu Kalluri, University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center

5:15pm    Michael Simons, Yale University

5:45pm    Damian Medici, Brown University

6:15pm    Mangred Boehm, NHLBI/NIH (abstract presenter)

Saturday, May 10 2014

Leukocyte-Endothelial Cell Interactions

9:00am    Jeff Bender, Yale University

9:30am    Jordan Pober, Yale University   

10:00am  William A. Muller, Northwestern University 

10:30am   Jason E. Fish, Toronto General Research Institute, UHN (abstract presenter)     

Calabresi Award Presentation and Lecture

11:15am   Zoltan Arany, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center/Harvard Medical School

1:00pm    Lawrence H. Young, Yale University     

1:30pm    Kenneth Walsh, Boston University

2:00pm    Robert E. Gerszten, Massachusetts General Hospital

2:30pm    Longyue Cao, Albert Einstein College of Medicine (abstract presenter)

2:45pm    Program Concludes