Skip to Main Content

Congratulations to Dr. Kristen Nwanyanwu: Recipient of the William R. Orthwein, Jr. '38 Yale Scholar Award!

May 07, 2024

It is with immense pleasure that we announce Dr. Nwanyanwu as the esteemed recipient of the William R. Orthwein, Jr. '38 Yale Scholar award. This prestigious accolade stands as a testament to Dr. Nwanyanwu's exceptional research achievements and promising potential as an incoming junior faculty member within the Yale School of Medicine.

The establishment of this distinguished award is thanks to the generosity of the family of William R. Orthwein Jr. and the William R. Orthwein Jr. and Laura Rand Orthwein Foundation, a philanthropic organization based in St. Louis, Missouri. Their combined $2.5 million gift to the School of Medicine has endowed Yale Scholars in Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences, initiating a vital opportunity for groundbreaking research and innovation.

Under the visionary leadership of Dean Robert J. Alpern, M.D., the Yale Scholars program has been forged as a recent initiative. It offers four years of invaluable research funding to the most promising new faculty members recruited at our esteemed medical school. Since 2017, there have been three appointees: Anirvan Nandy, PhD, Brian Hafler, MD, PhD, and now Kristen Nwanyanwu, MD, MBA, MHS.

Congratulations are in order for this well-deserved recognition. Dr. Nwanyanwu’s unwavering commitment to research and academic excellence serves as an inspiration to us all. We eagerly anticipate witnessing the continued impact of your work within the esteemed halls of Yale University School of Medicine.

Submitted by Paige Mickolyzck on May 07, 2024