Awards and Honors

  • Julius Axelrod Prize, Society for Neuroscience
  • Soriano Award, American Neurological Association
  • Wartenberg Award, American Academy of Neurology
  • Career Development Award, Department of Veterans Administration
  • Reingold Award, National MS Society
  • Dystel Prize, National MS Society, and American Academy of Neurology 
  • Institute of Medicine, National Academy of Science
  • Presidential Early Investigator Award
  • C.P Symonds Award, British Association of Neurologists
  • Caroline Suden/Hellebrandt Award, American Physiological Society
  • CNS Section Young Investigator Award, American Physiological Society
  • Bridget Marie Flaherty Professorship, Yale University School of Medicine
  • Ian McDonald Award, British MS Society
  • The da Vinci Lifetime Achievement Award, National MS Society
  • William S. Middleton Award, Department of Veterans Affairs
  • Annual Review Prize, The Physiological Society, UK

Major Lectures

  • JZ Young Memorial Lecture, University College, London
  • Denny-Brown Lecture, Harvard University
  • Tuve Memorial Lecture, National Institutes of Health
  • Aird Lecture, University of California, San Francisco
  • Charcot Memorial Lecture, Washington, DC
  • Norman Geschwind Lecture, Harvard University
  • RS Allison Lecture, British Neurological Association
  • K. Casey Lecture, University of Michigan
  • Donald Munro Lecture, American Paraplegia Society
  • Annual Review Prize Lecture, The Physiological Society, UK