Skip to Main Content


Kim Selected as 2023 Laughlin Fellow of The American College of Psychiatrists

September 21, 2022

Jihoon Kim, MD, a fourth-year resident in the Department of Psychiatry at Yale School of Medicine, has been selected to be a 2023 Laughlin Fellow of The American College of Psychiatrists.

Kim will attend The College’s next annual meeting in Tuscon, Arizona, in February 2023, with travel, lodging expenses, and conference registration fee covered by The College.

Laughlin Fellows are chosen from an elite pool of applicants who are identified as likely to make significant contributions to the field of psychiatry. This year, The College selected 12 Laughlin Fellows from the United States and Canada. Fellows are considered based on their leadership qualities, clinical excellence, dedication to teaching, community service, and research and scholarly work. They participate in all educational and social functions during the Annual Meeting.

The College comprises more than 750 psychiatrists who have demonstrated excellence in the field of psychiatry and achieved national recognition in clinical practice, research, academic leadership, or teaching. It provides continuing education to its members, promotes the latest advances in psychiatry, and supports high standards in the field.

Kim is the chief resident of digital psychiatry at Yale. He is the recipient of The American Psychiatric Association (APA)’s 2021 Leadership Fellowship, 2021 Thomas P. Detre Award, and the 2021 Resident Teaching Award. Kim’s work mainly focuses on youth suicide prevention, intervention, and research. He has worked with several organizations prior to and during residency, educating suicide prevention strategies to teenagers and providing crisis support for minority youths. His research focuses on using brain imaging, digital technologies, and novel psychobehavioral treatments for the detection and intervention of suicidality and mood disorders in youth.

Submitted by Jordan Sisson on September 21, 2022