Skip to Main Content

We are pleased to offer the YSM alumni donor community the unique opportunity to name a one-year scholarship for a current medical student in honor of whomever they wish—themselves, a loved one, professor, or a classmate. The Dorothy Horstmann Scholars program recognizes the many generous donors whose leadership annual gifts make possible the dynamic, diverse, and creative environment that defines the Yale School of Medicine experience. For more information on becoming a Horstmann Scholar Donor, please contact Bridget Austin at, or (203) 436-8556.

Learn more about Dorothy M. Horstmann

Leadership Giving

Our seven named levels of participation represent increasing levels of commitment to the School of Medicine and offer a range of opportunities to become involved in our annual giving program. The society is named for Milton C. Winternitz, the legendary dean whose vision nearly a century ago led to the Yale System of medical education, the collaborative, research-focused teaching philosophy that remains a hallmark of YSM. Winternitz Society donors are invited to events on campus or regionally and are recognized appropriately for their leadership giving.

The Winternitz Society giving levels

Nathan Smith Circle $50,000 and above
Paul Beeson Circle $25,000-$49,999
Dorothy M. Horstmann Circle $10,000-$24,999
Gustaf E. Lindskog Circle $5,000-$9,999
Cortlandt Van Rensselaer Creed Circle $2,500-$4,999
Thomas R. Forbes Circle $1,000-$2,499
Young Physician Circle (classes prior to their 5th reunion) $250-$999
*Read more about each of these historic figures

Contact Us

If you have questions about the Alumni Fund or The Winternitz Society, please contact: