Giving Levels

Nathan Smith

Nathan Smith (1762-1829) is recognized as one of the founding members of the Yale School of Medicine – then known as the Medical Institution of Yale College. Dr. Smith came to Yale after founding the Dartmouth Medical School in 1797 and was known for his innovative, practical approach to medicine and surgery.

Paul Beeson

Paul Beeson (1908-2006) was the world-renowned former Chairman of Medicine and beloved mentor. Dr. Beeson set the standard as a caring physician, who conveyed to his students the importance of patients as human beings. He was also an infectious disease expert who published two major textbooks used in medical schools internationally.

Dorothy M. Horstmann

Dorothy M. Horstmann (1911-2001) was a principal researcher of the pathogenesis and control of viral infections, particularly polio and rubella. Her findings helped develop the acceptance of the oral polio vaccine. In 1961, Dr. Horstmann became the first female professor of medicine at Yale, and in 1969 she was the first woman in the university to hold an endowed chair. She became an elected member of the National Academy of Sciences in 1975.

Gustaf Lindskog

Gustaf E. Lindskog (1903-2002) was a long-standing and highly respected Chairman of Surgery. Dr. Lindskog spent his career at Yale, where he began as Chief Resident, became a general surgeon, and emerged as a distinguished thoracic surgeon. While reserved in nature, he had deep respect for education and was known by his residents for a Socratic teaching method and for his thoughtful and effective grand rounds.

Cortlandt Van Rensselaer Creed (1835-1900) was the first African-American graduate of the Medical Institution of Yale College in 1857. Dr. Creed was a nationally recognized clinician who ministered a multiracial community clinic in New Haven and consulted on the care of President Garfield. His research thesis, titled Dissertation on the Blood can be found in the Harvey Cushing-John Hay Whitney Medical Library.

Thomas Forbes

Thomas R. Forbes (1911-1988) served as Associate Dean of the School of Medicine and the first Dean of Admissions. Dr. Forbes influenced a generation of Yale-trained physicians and set the precedent for admitting minority students to the School of Medicine.