Skip to Main Content

Michael Caplan, PhD, MD

C. N. H. Long Professor of Cellular And Molecular Physiology and Professor of Cell Biology; Chair, Cellular and Molecular Physiology

Contact Information

Michael Caplan, PhD, MD

Mailing Address

  • Cellular & Molecular Physiology

    PO Box 208026, 333 Cedar Street

    New Haven, CT 06520-8026

    United States



Michael J. Caplan received his bachelors degree from Harvard University and his M.D. and Ph.D. degrees from Yale University in 1987. He joined Yale's Department of Cellular and Molecular Physiology as a faculty member in 1988, and is currently the C.N.H. Long Professor of Cellular and Molecular Physiology and Cell Biology.

He has received fellowships from the Helen Hay Whitney Foundation, the David and Lucille Packard Foundation for Science and Engineering, and a National Young Investigator Award from the National Science Foundation. He has also received the Young Investigator Awards from the American Physiological Society and the American Society of Nephrologists.

His work focuses on understanding the ways in which kidney cells organize and maintain their unique structures. His laboratory also studies the mechanisms responsible for Autosomal Dominant Polycystic Kidney Disease, and is working to identify targets for new therapies.

Education & Training

  • PhD
    Yale University (1987)
  • MD
    Yale University (1987)
  • AB
    Harvard University, Biology (1980)


  • Scientific Advisory Board of Telethon Italia and TIGET
    Milan, Lombardy, Italy 2009
    Serves on the scientific advisory boards of Telethon Italia and of TIGET, a group of scientists of international standing, which seek to investigate and find cures for genetic diseases.

Honors & Recognition

AwardAwarding OrganizationDate
FellowAmerican Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) 2023
Carl W. Gottschalk Distinguished LectureshipAmerican Physiological Society2012
Postdoctoral Mentoring PrizeYale University2010
Bohmfalk Award for Excellence in Basic Science TeachingYale University2000
Young Investigator AwardAmerican Society of Nephrology1998
Henry P. Bowditch Award LectureshipAmerican Physiological Society1998
National Young Investigator AwardNational Science Foundation

Departments & Organizations